Reviews For Divided Loyalties
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jun 2013 17:46 Title: Chapter 1

An explosive beginning after a solemn start. Quite an unexpected way to deliver an opening. Rereading this story in the correct order and context. Already, liking the continuity going on between episodes. Shows you are going to keep on building and building on the series.

As for now, we have an explosion on DS9. In the time of war it ought really to be the Dominion behind it but given the tapestry of DS9 and the series you write it likely isn't just what it seems.



Author's Response: Glad you're re-reading these early stories. As I indicated when starting this series though, it's not going to be all Dominion all the time.

Reviewer: David Lowbridge Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 May 2012 03:18 Title: Chapter 6

A really good story. I was wondering how they were going to get out this. It is good to see that not every captain can suddenly wield a weapon and suddenly they escape on their own. I'm loving the whole development you are giving to the crew and that it is not a big happy family. It is something that TNG and VOY ignored (unless it served the A plot). Good job.

Reviewer: Ln X Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 29 Nov 2011 12:39 Title: Chapter 1

Teero Anaydis; nice one adding him, that crazed Bajoran who uses mind-control. This story was good, and as Miranda Fave said in her last review of this story; the pace is lightening quick. But I think she is a little right when she said it may have helped to add a little detail about some of the characters were feeling about all this. Introspection or something.

There seem to be three levels of introspection: mild, moderate and heavy. You go for the mild sort, I go for the moderate, and some authors I've noticed on this (like Nerys Ghemor for instance) use heavy amounts of introspection. I can understand how you write these stories in a sort of TV-like format. By its very nature the TV-format has very little introspection, usually.

But you have some really good characters here: Limis, Morrison, Kozar... And it would be nice to really feel what they are thinking and feeling, a little introspection...

But it was a good story just about as good as Moral Dilemma. One thing I do like is how I'm getting drawn in to your series/universe. Consider this a big thumbs up!

Author's Response: I would tend to agree compared to more recent which do offer a bit more in the way of introspection, a little thing I've learned from reading Trek novels, of course those passages can be more maddeningly lengthy. The more immediate crisis of this story is quickly resolved, while at the same time continuing various character arcs. It also sets the tone for how captain and first officer inter-relate in later narratives with Kozar realizing he should practice what he preaches after having to defuse silly little squabbles in the engineering and medical departments. Look for hints of the creatures from "Conspiracy" (TNG) resurfacing.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2009 13:31 Title: Chapter 6

Oh nice mysterious ending to this tale. I figure I've landed in in the middle of things but I'll be sure to check any stories set before this one. Your story zipped along at a terrific pace and I liked the abrupt and revelatory entrance of the new MACO commander. Hee hee. That is one heck of a job interview.


Mind you, for the cracking pace the ending comes very quickly and we don't get too much character introspection. Not that is a necessary thing but a little more pause and development of the story and setting can add loads to a story. Particularly, as you've created quite a mixed bunch of characters, none too polished or too squeaky clean, and that always makes for interesting reading.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2009 13:18 Title: Chapter 5

Out foxed - not surprising considering the circles Limis is moving in - these people are used to trying to evade and to destroy. It certainly mixes things up for the captain and Morrison. Bet he is really regretting his choice now.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2009 13:12 Title: Chapter 4

Limis is one rough character and the crew is less than cohesive. And from what I gather here, quite a few resent the captain being CO as a former Maquis but in times of war someone who uses the tactics employed by Limis is needed though Kozar aggrieved is looking for a means to hang Limis. Dear oh dear.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2009 12:25 Title: Chapter 3

Playing hard and fast with the rules is bound to land Limis in trouble and it sounds like she is well use to it and taking unorthodox methods is par the course. And it seems she has a colourful and exotic past with some rather dubious friends. Great potential here for an awful lot of trouble.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2009 12:15 Title: Chapter 2

Oh interesting development here. And Garak as ever with his wry humour in the face of trouble is spot on. Lucky Morrison was in the right place at the right time.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2009 11:01 Title: Chapter 1

After a sorrowful start things end up on an explosive ending. Great hook into the story. And this was a lovely little line:


“From the stars we came,” said Limis, “and to the stars we shall return.”

You must login (register) to review.