Reviews For To Win the Stars
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 04 Oct 2011 16:27 Title: Part Two, Chapter Ten

So it comes to pass...
I hope you return to this. I've found it quite interesting in its warped version of those we know...

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 04 Nov 2010 07:37 Title: Part Two, Chapter Nine

Excellent-although Pike got dressed rather fast...

Need more frequent chapters

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Sep 2009 16:33 Title: Part Two, Chapter Eight

Very nice. The interpersonal relationships could get very complicated before everything is done.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Aug 2009 06:03 Title: Part Two, Chapter Seven

Did you mean to repeat this 3 times?

Author's Response: What? Ack. No. Fixed.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2009 02:26 Title: Part Two, Chapter Six

Most excellent meeting of minds here. The dynamics are both complicated and "fascinating".

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Aug 2009 18:22 Title: Part Two, Chapter Five

That was interesting-Kirk fighting Spock. Only, how long before anyone realizes that he's some kind of alien?

Author's Response: Hopefully not too long! But remember that these people, despite their dreams of space, really have no idea if there is life out there. There are far more deformities than aliens on Earth right now.

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jul 2009 04:37 Title: Part Two, Chapter Four

I know it's not nice to say that when a person has just updated, but I could some more, y'know? ;-) ::grins:: Nice work. :D

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jul 2009 04:28 Title: Part Two, Chapter Four

And Jim meets Edith. It can't end well....

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2009 20:33 Title: Part Two, Chapter Four

LOL! I dunno if at 5'8", Scott could ever be considered a big man (most of the crew was taller), even if he does have a powerful set of shoulders (not counting the movie era obviously); still, I really liked your introduction of Jim to the rest, and how you're tying in episode elements from City, as well as all new stuff. Good work!

Author's Response: Yeah, I wasn't thinking of height so much as muscle and width. Let's face it, even in TV-era, the uniform is a lot tighter on Scotty than on, say, Spock. That said, I'm sure everything I get wrong about Scotty could fill a book. Thank you very much.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2009 18:46 Title: Part Two, Chapter Three

Ah, here he comes. And right about time, too.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2009 18:41 Title: Part Two, Chapter Two

Nobody's safe in your story, eh? An exciting piece-I could feel the tension as they escaped.

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2009 05:54 Title: Part Two, Chapter Three

Heartbreaking, the part about Spock. And now Jim and Gary are here, and I'm trying to figure out if the set is complete. ;-) ::hoping for an update soon::

Author's Response: They're all here except Chekov, actually. And thank you very much! (:

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2009 05:48 Title: Part Two, Chapter Two

Gripping. Oh my. I would really like to see that in a movie. Oh well, I suppose I'll have to settle for your fabulous writing then. ;-)

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2009 05:40 Title: Part Two, Chapter One

In some ways, it's very reminiscent of Fahrenheit 451. Same kind of ban-everything-that-disturbs-things schism. Interesting take on religions and nationalities creeps in there, too. Intriguing work. Really.

Author's Response: Really? I've never read Fahrenheit 451, but I've heard of it, so I'll take that as a compliment. And I'm afraid my religious views end up creeping into everything I write, whether or not they have anything to do with the story... anyway, thank you very much!

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2009 05:32 Title: Part One, Chapter Three

Whoa. A very disturbing scene and painfully well-written. What a reality you are creating indeed. Amazing.

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2009 05:27 Title: Part One, Chapter Two

Ouch. Poor Spock. I really like your Pike, I'd say it's a steadily growing affection. ;-) And the world around them takes more shape and form. Nice work!

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2009 05:19 Title: Part One, Chapter One

Oh wow. I'm intrigued as hell. LOL. No, seriously, usually it takes a while to get a hang of an AU, but this just goes right through you from line one. Amazing. Excellent dialogues. Whew! ;-)

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2009 00:43 Title: Part Two, Chapter Three

Loved the interaction between Jim and Gary -- it was definitely aces. And the continued backstory building and intrigue, too.

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jul 2009 16:39 Title: Part Two, Chapter Two

I really do like your take on Amanda; as the pieces of this messed up world fall into place, it's hard not to be very worried for our heroes and very anxious about what more the villains will show.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Jul 2009 17:59 Title: Part Two, Chapter One

Rand's going to be trouble. I like the gift-what a great idea-Tolkein banned? I'd like to see the Enforcers try to get rid of every copy-fat chance.This is a very evil society you have created. I really want to know the underlying causes.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! And I have something very special in mind for Rand...

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Jul 2009 17:53 Title: Part One, Chapter Three

So there's more going on here than meets the eye. I really like how you are developing this, like a chess game where you slowly move your pieces in place.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Jul 2009 17:49 Title: Part One, Chapter Two

Weird and chilling at the same time. I like Pike-I'm picturing Bruce Greenwood here. This is an awful AU you've created-that is, the setting is horrible, not your story. The story is great. What insanity could change America so completely is beyond me.

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 07 Jul 2009 03:04 Title: Part Two, Chapter One

Awww... look at that building crew! Liked the Number One and Spock interaction, and the continued dystopian feel.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I like writing Number One and Spock almost as much as I like writing Chapel and Spock... and dystopian, that was the word I was looking for. Again, thank you.

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Jul 2009 22:21 Title: Part One, Chapter Two

Another totally cool chapter of a still very cool story. ::grins:: I like Pike smoking. Because, well, the anti-smoking crusade is kind of old. I like the dystopian feel of this world you've created, too.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 01 Jul 2009 08:07 Title: Part One, Chapter One

OK, you will continue this. What a remarkable concept and plotline! I am eager to read more.

Author's Response: I guess I'm continuing it then. Thank you very much!

You must login (register) to review.