Reviews For Middle Watch
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jul 2013 19:00 Title: Chapter 1

Aw, sweet.

He was understandably terrified, and he had the usual underconfident employee's question when the boss calls you into the office - am I in trouble?

And then, eek, to be put in command. 

I won't give away the ending so that this review won't be a spoiler.

I will tell you, though, that Lili O'Day wouldn't give a rat's patootie about the color of table linens. She'd fold up a bunch of napkin swans and call it a day and not bother the upper decks with such silliness. She also wouldn't ask permission to use more jam, and would just do it, and apologize later, if need be. ;)



Author's Response: ::grins:: I am at least reasonably sure some of that paperwork was hazing. Thanks!

Reviewer: Gildir Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jun 2012 12:38 Title: Chapter 1

Another excellent story, which made me laugh out loud about all the linen shenanigans. (White goes with everything...) I have to admit that I was a little disappointed that the Klingon encounter turned out to be a simulation, because I think that's become something of a Trek cliche (see not only the various stories about the Kobayashi Maru, but the Saavik sequence in "Spock: Reflections", the Excelsior sequence in the "Generations" novelization, etc.) Still, the scene between Pike and Scotty and the ending are touching and warm-hearted, and make up for any disappointment I felt. The excellent characterizations of Scotty and Pike, and the satisfying use of continuity from "Vulcan's Glory" and "The Kobayashi Maru", are also nice touches.

Author's Response: ::grins:: Well, it wasn't a cliche when Pike pulled it! (Have not read the novelisations, but I figure simulated battles probably are used on young officers fairly often, sometimes with and sometimes without supervision, just because they're an effective traning tool. Police officers today use the same thing, long after they've graduated.) I'm really glad you like it! Those are, coincidentally, the only two novels I consider 'canon' for my writing.

Reviewer: LJC Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 29 Jun 2009 21:35 Title: Chapter 1

This was lovely! Poor Scott. And tea is in fact the cure for all ills. Even potential table linen disasters, and Klingon warbirds destroying the ship. I particularly love the yeoman.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's an earlier piece of mine, but I had fun with it.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jun 2009 21:15 Title: Chapter 1

That was a hoot!  I had my suspicious that it was a simulation, but they weren't confirmed until the very end.  The whole back-and-forth on the linens and dessert menues had me in stiches!

Thanks for a wonderful look at why Scotty made such a capable stand-in on those numerous occasions when both Kirk and Spock (shaking head with disbelief) elected to leave the ship at the same time. 

"That poppin' Jay Fox!"



Author's Response: Thanks, Sam! It takes him awhile to get into the idea of commanding the ship, but I figured this was a good first run for the future second officer.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jun 2009 16:02 Title: Chapter 1

Ha ha! Excellent, excellent. Loved the whole linen and food menu debacle and how annoyed it made our simple minded engineer who likes no pomp or ridiculousness. His first test was a doozy but he showed some of his true potential. Kudos to Pike for seeing it in him. Kudos to you Steff for writing it.



Author's Response: Thanks much, Miranda!

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 13 Jun 2009 06:14 Title: Chapter 1

Oh, that was perfect on so many levels! I thought I would have killed the yeoman long before white linens. But that's just me. LOL. Also, I thought when Pike said 'and a bonus' it would be for creative language. :D But I guess, this one goes to you. ;-) I love your Pike, somewhat softer than I usually picture him, but very authentic. And Scotty, well... :D

Also, counting bells was a master touch.

Author's Response: Pike struck me, in Vulcan's Glory, as being a bit softer. IE, how he handled the young runaway lovers and that, how he handled the rest of his crew. He seemed like his own man, not a Kirk-clone, and I was pretty taken with him from the first. Well, that and your version would probably scare my Scotty into asking for a transfer. ;-) Thanks much for the comment!

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jun 2009 22:30 Title: Chapter 1

Oh.  My.  GOD.

That first part was reminding me SO much of the first time I got left in charge of the store!!!  Thankfully, minus the Klingons.  Though I had some difficult customers... ;-)

BTW, I'm just curious...was Pike's demeanor something you got from "The Cage"?  (Haven't actually seen it, I don't think--or if I have, it's been YEARS.)  Or was it something you figured based on Spock's relationship with him?

I had to try very hard not to get AOS Pike in my head, though, as I read this.  VERY hard, considering I wound up with a crush on him... ;-)



Author's Response: I mostly got Pike's demeanor from the Cage, plus Vulcan's Glory by D.C. Fontana, and (of course) Spock's loyalty to him in the Menagerie. Vulcan's Glory, especially, does a beautiful job of drawing out Hunter's version of Pike in a way that makes him admirable, strong and innately kind. So, that's where I got that. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 11 Jun 2009 17:19 Title: Chapter 1

Awesome story about Scotty's first trial by fire in the big chair.

The galley requisitions were a total hoot and clearly designed to drive our favorite engineer to slow insanity before making him face certain death.

I smelled a rat fairly quickly but that didn't lessen my enjoyment of reading this in the least.

A very important lesson for Scott, a terrific read.

Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks much, CeJay!

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 11 Jun 2009 12:41 Title: Chapter 1

I liked this a lot-but I guessed what was up when the other 3 Klingons appeared. I think dragging out the yeomen's visits was very effective. It lulled the reader into a false sense of calm. Scotty would need the experience on the Bridge-he was command-tracked in TOS as the Chief Engineer and was expected to take the ship as needed. Good job!

Author's Response: I figured the main reason he was second officer in TOS wasn't because Chief Engineers usually were, but between his Command School experience and Pike's observations, he ended up being tugged into such a dual role. And, it suits him.

You must login (register) to review.