You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Nov 2009 20:51 Title: Charity

Ooooh, I REALLY love this idea, especially since the writers did actually toy with having it be uncertain who Kira really was born as.

The reactions of the rest of the crew seem very much in-character...knowing that her identity is so fragile right now, and that Major Kira IS alive in her in some way, I think they really would be that careful not to hurt either part of her personality by emphasizing that it wasn't her fault what happened.

I kinda wonder, though, that we didn't see a bit more of the father-daughter connection...after all, if you look back at "Second Skin," it actually wasn't Entek who, with his mind games and lies, made Kira come the closest to believing that she was Iliana--it was Tekeny Ghemor with his unabashed, honest love.

To me, I would think that her one "home," if this makes any sense, would be Tekeny.

After all, he was truly ready to love her for HER, whatever her genetics.  And I think he still could.

I SO wish you'd follow this up with a sequel! :-)



Author's Response: Ghemor was a real stand-out character, and you're right, the father-daughter dynamic is definitely worth exploring. Perhaps one day... I'm so glad you liked all of these segments, and thank you again for taking the time to comment on them all!

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Nov 2009 20:46 Title: Faith

WHOA!  I totally didn't expect that!  When you showed the clothing she was wearing, I automatically assumed it was Kai Winn (maybe because I don't really picture Kira as wearing gold all that well!), and that it was just Major Kira being a hothead.

But, now that I go back and reread it with the reversed roles in mind, it starts to make more sense.  At first I thought the refusal to allow a direct Orb encounter was out of the same kind of power-hoarding that Kai Winn demonstrated (to force the requirement of an intermediary as a means of maintaining authority), but now that I go back, I can see that Kai Kira is simply extremely aware of what a snake Winn is, and is doing this, perhaps, on a single-case basis.

Fascinating mind game you've played!



Author's Response: I'm glad I was able to keep things sufficiently ambiguous! Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Nov 2009 20:40 Title: Hope

At that point in the series, I easily could've seen this happening.  Odo was a traitor, and I would've found it perfectly believable if, even if he started to regret what he'd done, that Kira could've punished him for it.  In an odd way, I actually think we have one Skrain Dukat to thank for Odo's life: had Dukat not had Kira NEARLY on his side at that point, then I don't think Kira would've for one second questioned herself for punishing him for his betrayal.  She might feel uneasy, but I think she would've done it.

And in a weird way, you also have an echo of Damar killing Ziyal.



Author's Response: Yeah, I think this scenario is far more realistic than what actually occurred in canon. But of course TPTB wouldn't kill Odo...though Kira would have if forced to. For the greater good, of course. Even if, in the deepest recesses of her mind, she would never forgive herself for having done so. But she would have had an even harder time *not* killing him, and then living with what he had done, what she had *allowed* him to do by leaving him alive. I didn't think of the Damar/Ziyal parallels--interesting! Thanks again for the feedback.

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Nov 2009 20:37 Title: Fortitude

Damn, I want to slap this version of Sisko--he really does indeed come off as an arrogant ass.  But then, without his encounter with the Prophets, I suspect he would have a LOT more unresolved anger issues than he did in the series.

I do not, however, believe that he won that exchange at all.  I would've loved to see Kira have an answer for him, because there are indeed two words that answer his challenge: FREE WILL.  And that, I believe, is the thing respected even above the sanctity of the physical life and why bad things happen in this world.  Knowing Kira, I think she would understand that philosophy (even if it's a very hard one).



Author's Response: To his credit, Sisko doesn't really mean to come off the way he does. In the absence of religion, or faith (and this Sisko is emphatically *not* the Emissary), all he can see is the military picture. He genuinely wants to help Bajor, and is frustrated at their stubbornness. Kira, of course, is equally frustrated by *his* stubbornness and refusal to see her side. Who won that exchange? That is in the minds of the beholder... Thanks for the feedback!

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Nov 2009 20:32 Title: Justice

Oh, yes...she was very close to that line, I believe, and never did we see that more clearly than "The Darkness and the Light."  I could very easily see a version of her that went that little bit in the other direction...



Author's Response: It really was a hair's-breadth separating her from this, and there were doubtless many of her former compatriots who *did* feel exactly this way (and for that matter, never understood why she so willingly went over to the 'enemy' i.e. the Federation's side). And, probably Kira herself second-guessed herself, her decisions, on more than one occasion over the next several years... Glad you liked this one.

Reviewer: PSGarak Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2009 23:47 Title: Charity

Really nice. You nailed Garak's way of speaking. I could easily see this play out in my mind as I read.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed. Thanks for this, and all of your other feedback. It's greatly appreciated.

Reviewer: PSGarak Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2009 23:42 Title: Faith

Ha! Nice twist at the end. I didn't see that coming.

Author's Response: Glad to hear it! It wasn't easy, sticking to just ranks and not using names at all.

Reviewer: PSGarak Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2009 23:38 Title: Hope

All I can say is that I'm glad it didn't go down that way! I think it was very touch and go for Odo for a while, though. He certainly could have made that decision. And then Kira would have been forced to do just that. Really well written.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, in "real life", it probably would've have happened this way.

Reviewer: PSGarak Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2009 23:34 Title: Fortitude

Again, but for a small twist, this could have been how it went down, if Sisko wasn't "The Sisko". You have a deft hand with AU believability, keeping core tenets of the characters even while changing the circumstances.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, this was basically pre-"revelation" Sisko, acting as the Starfleet "voice of reason". (One can imagine his disbelief if told, pre-discovery of the wormhole, how his thinking would change over the next few years.

Reviewer: PSGarak Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2009 23:29 Title: Justice

This could so easily have been Kira but for circumstance. Despite being the one who was second in command on the show, she had a great deal of mistrust and anger for the Federation. Very interesting AU take that wasn't too far from the truth.

Author's Response: There were definite echoes of this in Kira, especially the first season. I'm glad this story worked for you. Thanks for the feedback!

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 11 Jun 2009 17:59 Title: Fortitude

Very nice.

I like Sisko in this story and the previous one as well. He's clearly no Picard. He doesn't dance around the issue but goes straight to the point of the matter, even if it is ugly.

He knows it has to be done even if it means to offend the Bajorans.

A bit disturbing to see Kira this helpless but that seems to be a theme here.

Nicely done.

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 09 Jun 2009 13:05 Title: Justice

oops, forgot your stars. :)

Author's Response: Again, many thanks!

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Jun 2009 13:04 Title: Charity

Interesting. I'm only peripherally aware of Ghemor's role in the DS9 saga but still got the gist of it. Interesting.

Author's Response: The heck of it is that in the original ep, the whole ploy of trying to convince Kira she really was an operative named Iliana Ghemor was just to expose Legate Ghemor as a member of the Cardassian underground. This is another "what if" that really deserves to be expanded into a full-fledged story.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Jun 2009 12:55 Title: Faith

Whoa, that one rocked me. You had me fooled the whole way!

Author's Response: Another satisfied customer *g*.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Jun 2009 12:52 Title: Hope

Edge of my seat-I'd love to see the consequences of this one!

Author's Response: This was definitely one of those that called out for a longer version. Maybe one day..

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Jun 2009 12:50 Title: Fortitude

Ah, so close to what was that it rings true as what might have been. Well written characters, and a good argument on both sides re: mining the Temple.

Author's Response: Early Sisko, pre-Emissary (or his acceptance of his role which came much later) could definitely have gone that way.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Jun 2009 12:46 Title: Justice

Cool take on the original conditions.

Author's Response: Thanks. Some of these could have expanded into much longer tales.

You must login (register) to review.