Reviews For Eternal Midnight
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Jun 2013 12:52 Title: Act Five

What a way to end the proceedings and of course make the story title. Poor Tommy O'Day. No quick rescue here. Just a long, long, long wait and probable death.

Then onto Ariel and Hargreaves! Wow. Ariel is loyal - we know that - but she really makes trish lash out and lose her control here. It makes the decision to appoint her as investigator all the more insane and stupid. It also questions whether someone wants to cashier in Leone by appointing someone who is going to do their damnedest to get dirt on the captain. Perhaps Hargreaves is no the only one with an axe to grind?

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Jun 2013 12:40 Title: Act Four

Again, Isira is full of win for her rather candid and proactive counselling technique. She also sums up things in a rather concise manner too. No bullshitting, share your feelings stuff.

Isira nodded in understanding. "You see a captain who is not used to being a captain, an officer who thought she was going to have your position but doesn't, and your response is not to talk to either officer but to snap at a fourth party. Do you see why I asked you to come in here?"

Perhaps her approach might be the one to make Kincaid sit up and wake up to how he should handle matters. Here's hoping he does cos Isira is on the money in her assessment.

 

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Jun 2013 12:09 Title: Act Three

Again more interesting interactions with the fun jovial banter of the rangers in contrast to the Kincaid handling of the situation. Ishira sure is a lot more confrontational in her role as counsellor. Not confrontation but a lot more proactive. She gets that Kincaid is not happy and she has a manner that gets to the nub of the matter telling Kincaid he has a way to go to impress his subordinates is one sure fire way to get his attention. He has his issues for sure and while not completely out of line in comparison to Leone's manner it could cause him troubles to continue in the same vein as he has been.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Jun 2013 11:50 Title: Act Two

Aha, I'm liking the mystery of the material causing all the problems and communication interferences. It's added to the confusion of the scene and of course has Tallan and O'Day in a deeper mess as their hopes of being rescued are lengthened considerably. It also shows that the Xray level warning on the cargo was worthy of it. Lots of practical little details and actions herein. And I like how the warning is passed on to all shuttles before any indepth explainations are given. Sometimes they ahve to just act as a precaution with no time for lectures or talking shops.

And it seems Leone is keen to get out and do some hard work herself by wanting to launch the yatch but you somehow you get the impression that Hargreaves or Kincaid will have something to say about matters. Or indeed about her having dinner aboard the frieghter when all this is going down. But it seems odd that the captain would have them over for a dinner when he's just lost a ship in the fleet. But the hints that Leone is using Ariel again to gain information and favour is seen here yet again.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Jun 2013 11:39 Title: Act One

Again, love the hard technology details. I also love the applied thinking process thinking about how the warp speed would carry the debris field over a much larger distance causing a bigger headache for all concerned.

Then with Tallan within his spacesuit we get lots of little details but also to the fore his concern for O'Day. It builds on the interaction of the two in the previous chapter which was fun banter and hints at a implied friendship and understanding. The ribbing of the senior chief was fun there and now we see that he does indeed feel concerned for O'Day. He seems also like a very adaptable bloke with good skills sets making ammendments to his EVA suit to help in the situation.

Back to the debriefing, again more nicely nuanced interactions. Great dialogue. Great tet-a-tet going on here between Hargreaves and the CMO. It seems Sovera has the invesitigator's number. And despite the cool Vulcan calm and logic she demonstrates loyalty to Leone in her own brand and way. I really like the Vulcan portrayal here too in characterisation. It is very logical and methodical but without having to fall on tropes of Vulcan logic rather Sovera's answer are precise, logical and framed a bit like a lawyer. Very good. But also with Hargreaves we are left wondering whether or not she has gotten the information she requires from Sovera. She would be a good card player for sure it seems. Maybe she's hedging her bets or calling someone's bluff but it seems Hargreaves beleives she has a mission to disprove Leone.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Jun 2013 11:26 Title: Teaser

Ok, I'm pretty sure that by now I have reviewed how much I like (nay love) appreciate and savour the little (not so little) details you throw into things. It isn't even details, it is the whole breadth of playing out a scene. You don't do techno-babble just plain out straight hard technology given not as info dumps or coming across as exposition. Instead, it comes across as very clear and a natural part of your narrative style. I really dig it. From the manner of conducting the survey of the wreckage - we have this one scene but we imagine it playing out maybe in other shuttles or on the ship at large - we have the EVA emergency gear up stuff - all detailed but all giving a clear sense of the danger involved. At times, I know you skip over some of the big action stuff and have things just happen but then you pull a trick like this and it is the small focus of it and fantastic telling of it that makes it so alive, real and great to read. And yet all within an economy of words. Colour me impressed.

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jun 2012 19:55 Title: Act Five

What a sad way to end the story. RIP Tommy or not?

I feel sorry for Hargreaves because she is right, Leone's family did pull some strings and that boils down to corruption. Almost as if Leone is above the law regarding some things. These are interesting concepts and good food for thought. The sort of stuff that makes these stories rather interesting.

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jun 2012 19:40 Title: Act Four

Isira should have replaced Troi on the Enterprise, this is how awesome she is! You're definitely upping the ante with the rest of the characters, so instead of the two-man (sorry woman) show of Ariel and Leone. We have some interesting characters like Kincaid and his anger problems, and the utterly forthright and calculating Isira.

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jun 2012 19:33 Title: Act Three

Nice little twist with Kincaid, actually made me more interested in this character. Plus Isira has some balls as a counsellor. I was wondering, is Isira lean and trim or is she overweight? Something beforehand in one of the chapters saying she was out of shape...

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jun 2012 19:23 Title: Act Two

Some hope for Tommy after all...

You must login (register) to review.