Reviews For Yesterday's Voyage
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2015 03:20 Title: Calm Before the Storm

And so it begins. I cannot condone what Sisko has done here, even if I can understand it. Spock would also be most disappointed, after all the needs of the many and all that jazz. Well maybe not all is yet lost ... Even though it's hard to see how anything good can come out of this. Great build up of tension right here.

Author's Response: No, Sisko's actions are definitely not condoneable. As to Spock's reaction... I guess we'll have to wait and see. Hopefully the tension building will lead to something you'll all enjoy - I'm hoping to surprise you all with the ending!

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2015 14:47 Title: Serpents in the Grass

Ah, the old, familiar faces! You captured everyone just right here, especially as it pertains to the time period (being in the mid-2360s), everyone we know on DS9's side is younger, rawer, and Kira is the perfect vessel for that. The Bajoran Resistance could bring down the Federation -- just to bring the Cardassains! Man, that's a big play, but I hope they realize the Klingons would be much, much worse to be under. I anticipate this coming to a head before long; way to set up the stakes. :)



Author's Response: You got it exactly! The Bajorans are playing with some high stakes here and their plan is very much likely to blow up in their faces.

Reviewer: jespah Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2015 05:14 Title: Serpents in the Grass

Ze plot, as we say, she thickens.

Events are unfolding differently enough to be interesting and similarly enough to be itchily uncomfortable.



Author's Response: Indeed she does! And more thickening to come! Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2015 04:55 Title: Serpents in the Grass

Your ability to perfectly capture the voice of any character you write astounds me. This is incredibly well done - better than the "real thing," even. And to balance that with such a deft handling of an alternate timeline and story, with all the moving pieces, and make it work in less than 500 words ... color me envious. Green with envy. 



Author's Response: Aw thanks! Always means a lot, especially considering how envious I am of your own writing! Just hope the pay-off will work for everybody, may not be what you're all expecting... Now get back to making Icheb and Maren happy! :)

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2015 04:37 Title: Serpents in the Grass

Looks as if the deck is truly stacked against this alliance, between the Bajoran resistance and the Klingons with their insider information, this deal already seems destined to fail. An interesting moral dilemma for the Federation as well, after all the Cardassians are the nicest guys to have as an ally.

Author's Response: Thanks CeJay! I definitely like to stack the deck! Then watch it all fall apart... *Emperor Palpatine like evil laugh* :)

Reviewer: Zilley Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2015 03:05 Title: Serpents in the Grass

*cue dramatic music* ... and another twist in the tale. I love the way each of these different scenes is linked by the structure of the opening sentence. Very clever.



Author's Response: Duh duh dum! So glad you noticed the opening sentence structure, didn't plan on it initially but after the second one I decided to go with it. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: Zilley Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2015 03:00 Title: A Compromised Father

Oh, boy. Some interesting twists and turns ahead, I can tell!



Author's Response: Hope so! Sisko's loyalties are definitely going to be tested here!

Reviewer: Zilley Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2015 02:55 Title: Unlikely Bedfellows

I agree with the others - Spock and Janeway together is an awesome combination! You captured them both nicely. I like that this is the beginning of a new adventure, but also a reminder of missions past.



Author's Response: Thanks Zilley! Glad you enjoyed it, and hope you'll like what I do with Sisko and Janeway going forward.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2015 12:43 Title: A Compromised Father

Ho-lee cow! Here I was ready to be excited of seeing Ben Sisko show up as Janeway's first officer only to find out that he's in the Klingon's pocket. You'd think the man had more integrity then that. But then again it's his kid we're talking about. Can't imagine even Prime Sisko not doing whatever it took to keep Jake safe. Even if it meant betraying the Federation. As for this Worf? For shame! Not honorable at all. Great stuff though.

Author's Response: Thanks! As I said to TF, I'm not sure that Prime Sisko would have been so quick to cave, but this is a younger Sisko and one who has been without one very key influence in his life. Same with Worf - he has grown up in a much more ferocious Klingon Empire so for him honor is in the victory. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2015 09:17 Title: A Compromised Father

Gasp! OMG!



Author's Response: Thanks! LOL! :)

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2015 08:37 Title: A Compromised Father

Oh, Sisko. Worf got your boy and you, you caved. Can't blame him (Sisko had a major crush for his boy, as any father would), but he's going to compromise the whole operation on Starfleet's end ... and what happens to Jake?

Nice look at a man who is truly in a no-win scenario.



Author's Response: Thanks TF! I'm not sure that DS9 Sisko would have been willing to put his son before the Federation like this one does, but this is a younger man who has had very different experiences. As to what will happen to Jake... RAFO! :)

Reviewer: jespah Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2015 05:32 Title: A Compromised Father

Oh! Totally AU! Worf in command - and not so nice? Jake? Wha-?

Intriguing, though-provoking, and I want to see how you'll torture us tomorrow.



Author's Response: :D LOL Me torture people? No! :) Worf may be a Commander but there may be some other familiar faces in the background here! And yes, Jake is in some trouble. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2015 05:24 Title: A Compromised Father

Whoa. You don't do anything halfway, do you?  Spock, Janeway, Sisko and Tain?!  And as if that weren't epic enough, now Worf, son of Mogh enters the picture, and has Jake and nefarious plans!  Wow.  I didn't think I could be more excited about this, but I guess I can. I don't know how you are going to resolve this in just five more days, but I know you will pull it off, because you're you. Damn, dude.  Well played. 



Author's Response: Me go halfway?! Of course not!!! :) I have a hell of a lot to throw in over the next few days. As to resolving this... As I said to someone else in response to their review, I's got plans. Big plans. :D Thanks so much for the comment, as usual! :)

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2015 14:37 Title: Unlikely Bedfellows

Oh that were good. That were right good that. 

I loved it Captain Sarine. The possibilities, the broad strokes used to imply so much and so effectively and with such economy. Realyl well done. I was always fascinated the most by Janeway and her friendship with Tuvok. I think that perhaps lends to the glee with which I read a Janeway/Spock pair up. I think it could be marvellous and rich and doubly so in such a setting. 

I like too that it has very much DS9 shades of grey and lingering threat underneath the premise and given how Spock and Janeway have in the canon interfered before for the sake of the Federation only to have it blow back in their face some (Spock - TUC making peace with the Klingons, failing to stop Romulus getting blown up and spinning back to a different timeline, Romulan Unity and the attempted coup of Vulcan) (Janeway and the Borg, the Q, etc). Together, who knows if their choices and actions will prove better or worse.

Intrigued and hooked on this. Eagerly looking forwards to more.



Author's Response: Thanks MF! Always great to see one of your reviews! I'm glad that Janeway/Spock worked for you, though we may see less of them interacting than some of you are expecting... :D I definitely wanted to imbue this with some of those DS9 shades, so cool that that came across.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2015 14:11 Title: Unlikely Bedfellows

Off to a most intriguing start here. In this time line the Federation can use whatever help it can get in order to avoid being wiped out. Very interesting too to see familiar characters thrown into unfamiliar roles. Eager to find out if this mission will lead to victory or merely accelerate ultimate defeat.

Author's Response: Thanks CeJay! Yep, as the Prime timeline showed in the Dominion War, difficult times make for strange alliances sometimes. I'm glad you liked what I did with the familiar characters. As to the eventual resolution... I's got plans! Lots of plans! :)

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2015 12:53 Title: Unlikely Bedfellows

I admire the hell out of how you spin alternate timelines, and this one's shaping up to be absolutely fascinating, to use an overused phrase. I loved seeing Janeway interacting with Spock and how, in just five hundred words, you gave us enough to start sketching in details for ourselves.

Author's Response: Thanks SL! I don't know why alternate timelines always speak to me, but they do. Just that idea of the road not taken, I guess, and how these alternates still tell us a lot about the characters we all know and love. I'm glad the 500 words worked to draw enough of a picture, I'm in awe of what you do with description in your ficlets so means a lot!

Reviewer: trekfan Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2015 09:03 Title: Unlikely Bedfellows

Oh, nice! This is a great timeline, one that has had too little devoted to it over the years since it came to be. I've always wondered what would hvae happened if the timeline hadn't been reset, and now we get to find out. Seeing Spock here is a nice, familiar face (as well as a younger Janeway -- who is certainly not a scientist in this timeline), but he's got to carry around a lot of guilt for the events that have transpired.

"Let history never forget the name ... Enterprise." Looking forward to more of this for sure. :)



Author's Response: Glad you like it. I've often wondered as well and then a post on trekbbs sparked some ideas. Hope you like where it goes next!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2015 06:59 Title: Unlikely Bedfellows

OMG, I am fangirling so hard over here. Spock and Janeway in the hands of one of my favorite authors?!  I've no doubt this is going to be an epic ride. Your characterization of Spock is first rate. I can't wait to see more of Janeway. And to see the two of them interacting?  Squee!



Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I hope it will live up those expectations!!

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2015 06:59 Title: Unlikely Bedfellows

This is one interesting mix of characters - you never think of them together. Can't wait to see where you go with this!



Author's Response: Thanks! Hope it will be worth the wait!

You must login (register) to review.