Reviews For Gens Una Sumus
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Mar 2015 17:10 Title: Chapter Ten

Astounding work, I honestly wish I could put together a tome like this. Very nice work to both of you.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Feb 2015 08:45 Title: Chapter Ten

Oh man, that was kinda harsh. For a moment there Selik thought that he wasn't alone in his cruel fate only to learn that no, actually, Kircheis was doing fine, was being wined and dined in fact while he was being brutally assaulted.

I'm curious about CJ's future. Looks like that promotion and new assignment lasted a lot shorter than anyone expected. I'm still convinced she'd love another chance of sitting in a captain's chair. After all she's done a pretty decent job in the brief time she was Adelphi's acting captain.

Intense stuff!

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Feb 2015 08:41 Title: Chapter Nine

The ordeal is over. In the end only one person really suffered here. Good think poor Selik is a Vulcan. Sure he's broken and devastated inside, no doubt, but time will heal this wound for him. And outwardly you'd probably never know what has been done to him.

As for CJ, she's made a new friend. Or possibly more? Of course getting struck hard in the face is normally not a good start to any relationship. Regardless, I wouldn't be surprised at all if their paths crossed again in the future.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Feb 2015 08:36 Title: Chapter Eight

Saw this coming but probably not when we first started out.

It's very interesting that the sexual assault here is reversed from what you would normally expect. That's cleverly done.

The reasoning behind Evaste's actions, and the importance Vulcans seem to have in Romulan society, seems a bit odd to me. I suppose different cultures have different ways of thinking, I can respect that.

There must be other ways for Evaste to impregnate herself, especially in the 24th century, which means that she thoroughly enjoys violating and humiliating pure Selik in this manner. This, is one sick lady.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Feb 2015 08:27 Title: Chapter Seven

That's an awkward position to be in for CJ. I mean here she is, fully aware that she has nothing to fear from her captor and yet she is unable to communicate any of this to her loyal crew. Tough spot. But hey, it could be a lot worse.

Actually it just might get worse. Evaste seems to have her mind set of going after Selik. In the worst possible way.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Feb 2015 08:23 Title: Chapter Six

Things are becoming a lot clearer now. At least as far as the connection between Kircheis and Taibek is concerned. Romulans seem to take their family extremely seriously, maybe even more so then the Cardassians do, for Taibek to risk turning against his own people and side with a human instead. Not to mention the commander of the starship which killed his own captain and most of his flotilla.

Kircheis' reaction is priceless though. Believing herself in mortal danger of torture and worse one moment to instead find herself in the care of an unexpected, and charming, ally instead.

Oh, and it appears to be a bad day to be a Vulcan.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Feb 2015 08:18 Title: Chapter Five

Okay things have taken an odd turn with CJ and her small group of crew-members finding themselves Romulan prisoners. And it looks like there's no place she can go these days without unwelcome eyes gobbling her up.

Taibek may have some other intentions here. The prologue comes back to mind; there is a connection here. I have to admit that I don't recall Kircheis' history and the circumstances of her affiliation with the Romulans but it seems fairly significant.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Feb 2015 08:11 Title: Chapter Four

Oh wow, Adelphi's a tough little ship. The Ambassador class is an old design, I would have thought she'd be minced meat against 3 warbirds for sure. Well, she still ends up that way in the end, but not before taking a few Romulans with her. Not the direction I was expecting things to go, with Toomey finding a quick death and Adelphi's story seemingly coming to an end.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Feb 2015 08:08 Title: Chapter Three

Oh yeah, Toomey is bad news, all around.

Taibek is right, it's Starfleet standard procedure to at least try to talk with the other side, even if their motives are clear. Toomey will have hell to pay for playing the role of the aggressor here. CJ is helpless to stop this train wreck in the making and I wonder about Toomey's motivations. Is she just a bad captain or are there some personal reasons at work?

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Feb 2015 08:05 Title: Chapter Two

Okay this crew is giving me all kinds of warning signs. Toomey seemed like a needlessly strict disciplinarian but perhaps a decent captain at first. Now I'm not so sure, not with an apparently racist crew, and officers like Carneiro who don't seem fit to wear the uniform. Not to mention her odd two-faced persona.

And now the Romulans? Bad tidings, I fear.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Feb 2015 13:56 Title: Chapter Ten

So, will Selik get custody of his child? Stay tuned ....

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Feb 2015 02:05 Title: Chapter One

Interesting developments here. CJ gets a promotion and with that ... loses her command to become an XO on a larger ship. I might not make use of that same rigid military logic in my own work but I suppose it does make a certain amount of sense. Even though it's hard to imagine any officer who has tasted the freedom of being in command of her own vessel, even if just a small escort, being truly satisfied of playing second fiddle on a larger ship. I suppose what keeps you going is hoping for that next promotion and returning to the center seat.

Toomey is interesting and most definitely not your typical Starfleet captain. I think this is going to be a very interesting, eye-opening assignment for CJ.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Feb 2015 02:00 Title: Prologue

CJ learns that you don't always get what you want when she requested a new chief engineer. More importantly though she learns that regardless, she will always have her people's back.

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2015 11:12 Title: Prologue

Though I'm not familiar with these characters, you made them come to life with this well-written prologue. A beautiful balance of dialogue and action. I like your use of "House" to describe family relationships. And of course I am curious about the term "Tal Priax breeder". Sounds of bit demeaning, but perhaps it's considered an honor in that culture. 

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2015 14:54 Title: Chapter Four

Hardly a great day for Kircheis, but she did everything she could. There will be some sort of inquiry, undoubtedly, and Toomey's lucky to be dead - I imagine it would be a court martial for sure.

Do they make it? I suppose that's a question for another story. 

Well done but there are a ton of introductions within the body of the story. I realize you had a lot of people to bring in but it did feel a bit like there was a lot of handshaking going on.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2015 14:47 Title: Chapter Three

Okay; now we've gone too far. The captain's out of line and they are going to pay.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2015 14:44 Title: Chapter Two

Uh oh this is trouble on a lot of fronts.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2015 14:38 Title: Chapter One

I find the captain to be very stiff - I imagine that's your intention. 

You must login (register) to review.