Reviews For Faith
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jun 2014 11:24 Title: I’ve Got a Secret

He really took that "required minor operation" in stride. Brave fellow!



Author's Response:

I kinda had to gloss over that one and just mention it quickly .... :)

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Jun 2014 11:57 Title: I’ve Got a Secret

Daniel Caleb ben Avraham Avinu son of Malachi and Keshet Liraz.might be the new name but he will have forever been Declan Reed son of Malcolm and Lili.

Another touching story of the pain of changes that all partners sometimes need to make for a successful marriage. Good solid closure to your latest story effort.

Author's Response:

I thank you. The names were kind of serendipitous, although I had already decided on Daniel (of course these are with Hebrew pronunciations). You really do change your life; it's a major upheaval to convert to Judaism, whereas for Islam (I looked this up), it's mainly a series of declarations and then you're done.

So this was more than a lark, and it further underscores how he's really and truly committing to Rebecca, and she to him (the tattoo, after all, is another symbol of permanence). This is their forever.

Thank you for reading.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jun 2014 19:38 Title: Sinking

Huh, he's definitely better off without her that much is for sure.



Author's Response:

Evil Louise!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jun 2014 19:37 Title: Soaring

Wicked cool and I love his reveal about deciding to convert and her lovely return.



Author's Response:

I had to sneak a dream in there, of course.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jun 2014 19:35 Title: Bittersweet

Wow, that's a smart use of bitter sweet and I'm continually impressed by how you are weaving this story through these random prompts. Bravo, especially for the breadth of material you are managing to explore with them.



Author's Response:

This one was a challenge to figure out, and then I realized - chocolate - and it all came down to food.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jun 2014 19:31 Title: Cold

Liking the sibling interaction here and love how they keep close even all the years later and have such frank exchanges despite beign vastly different personalities and living vastly different lives.



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you! Empy's a handful, but her heart's in the right place.

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jun 2014 16:13 Title: Bittersweet

Keeping kosher would be hard! Especially no cheeseburgers. So this congregation is Orthodox?



Author's Response:

It's Conservative/Reform, which is how I grew up. My folks still keep kosher - separate dishes and everything. But their synagogue (as is Declan's) doesn't require that the men and women sit separately, and women can be rabbis. As I write the first Starfleet rabbi, she's a she (and is married to a woman). This congregation isn't Starfleet, but it's a similar level of practice. Anyone too Orthodox might not even venture into space at all, or it would be extremely difficult. This gives everyone a little wiggle room, but still clearly sets them apart. Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jun 2014 16:08 Title: In the Beginning

Declan is feeling a bit like a fish out of water. I've been in his situation. The Jewish congregation sang with a wonderful power and warmth that vibrated up through the soles of my feet. I am sure that the rabbi will be very welcoming.



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you! I know how different it can feel/be.  He is stepping into almost as alien a landscape as Andoria.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jun 2014 13:11 Title: Sinking

Now that was hard on poor Declan, he's trying to do the right/noble thing and gets it thrown back in his face.

Here hoping he can leave it in the past and look forward to his upcoming wedding.

As always a good job.

Author's Response:

Oh, many thanks. I wanted his ex to be really bitchy.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jun 2014 11:45 Title: Sinking

Wow, what a slap in the face from Declan's ex-wife Louise. Geez! All he wanted to do was tell her that he was getting married, and that it would be easier for her if he called her instead of sending a message. 

Good job.

Thanks for sharing, cannot wait to see what you come up for the last day. 



Author's Response:

Ah, I thank you. Yeah, she's a piece of work.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jun 2014 18:27 Title: Soaring

What a wonderful addition to your ficlet series jes. What better way to sum this up with dreams eh? I liked that Declan could make contact with Rebecca in his dreams. 

 

Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you. The Calafans - one of my original species - they can all do this. They are defined by their dreams, in a lot of ways. Lots of fun to write about alien dreams, and I thought of the two of them, almost like a couple dancing. :)

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jun 2014 15:58 Title: Soaring

Simply sublime Jespah.

To see Declan and Rebecca soar together is truly sweet.

Well done.

Author's Response:

Oh, I thank you so much. I haven't written her too much. I really need to get on the stick and flesh out my second generation better. :)

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Jun 2014 16:38 Title: Bittersweet

This has become an excellent series of linked short stories. Good to have someone challenge Declan on how far he plans to go with his new faith and the kosher issue of alien foods.

Good Job.

Author's Response:

Many thanks! And this is going to be an issue for observant Jews (I grew up in a kosher household). To go into space, we'll have to adapt in all sorts of ways. This is but one of them.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Jun 2014 13:29 Title: Bittersweet

Ah, so Dec finally told the family. Another nice little piece you've got here jes. I'm really enjoying all the pieces your weaving together throughout this challenge. Enjoyable. I can't wait to see where you take this tomorrow.

 

Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you - yes, he's finally telling them. And, in true Lili O'Day fashion, it's communicated through food.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Jun 2014 14:03 Title: Cold

nice tweist on the cold prompt.
Use get good value and story out of Reed Junior.

Author's Response:

Many thanks!

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Jun 2014 13:45 Title: Cold

Another well thought out and interesting piece you have here jes. I'm really liking how this is progressing. Cannot wait to see what you come up with for Day #4.

 

Thanks for sharing this.



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you so much!

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jun 2014 14:45 Title: Red

Very clever and thoughtful short story.

Nice twist on the use of red.

Author's Response:

Many thanks!

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jun 2014 14:10 Title: Red

Very deep jes. Another wonderful installment for the challenge. I cannot wait to see where you go with day #3.

Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response:

Oh, thank you so much! :)

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jun 2014 12:36 Title: In the Beginning

You know, his exploration of faith feels in a way very fitting to the trekian  story telling notion of exploring the human condition. Liked this, especially as it showed an evolution of faith in a certain way going into the future. Yet remaining true to its core beliefs.



Author's Response:

Thank you. Well, you know, faith of the heart and all - it's all faiths. I see us sharing everything with our new friends, and that includes our belief systems. Who knows? Maybe they'll be adopted by others (and vice versa)?

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jun 2014 12:23 Title: Red

I wondered initially at the one sided conversation and then it clicked. This was so charming really. It had a certain poignancy about it too but I think Declan was coming with a happy, contented heart and one filled with gratitude and love, so that the sadness of the graveyard talk is lessened. He was lucky to have had some eon like her to guide and inspires. Note to add, loved the interpretation on the red.



Author's Response:

Oh, many thanks! Dec is an artist character (Marie Patrice is to a certain extent, too), and so the purest tone of a Cardinal's robes would stand out for him. He would absolutely see the difference, and would start to see boldness there, that it pops and stands out. And then he would compare it to the other bold reds he's known, and how those relate to the people he loves. 

Truth is, Norri unfurls herself to me more and more as I write her (I wasn't kidding in Seven Women - she is not too well known), and so for her to be the one to recognize his talent and buy him heavy paper - that's her demonstrating that she loves him right back.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jun 2014 16:33 Title: In the Beginning

Glad to see Reed Junior has found someone.
Look forward to see where you take this in future.

Author's Response:

Ah, thanks!

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jun 2014 14:07 Title: In the Beginning

*Claps* Wonderful piece you've got here jes. So, Reed has found himself a woman? I really enjoyed reading this.

Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response:

This is Reed's son. Thank you so much!! :)

You must login (register) to review.