Reviews For I Got Stripes
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 20:43 Title: I Got Stripes

How sweet to see a mother's pride in her cchild, as that child pursues and realizes her dreams.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 14:46 Title: I Got Stripes

I love doing calls to home; it never seems like much emphasis is placed on characters' families that they've left behind to do the job, even the ones who had good relationships back home. This was nice, and definitely sounded like a mother who doesn't have much experience with the military - something I have dealt with myself many times. Fun little read.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  We hardly saw the character's familes during TOS with the exception of Kirk's nephew, and Spock's parents.  I wrote it the way I did because I wanted Ortega to be the first of her family to join Starfleet.  I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 19:47 Title: I Got Stripes

Ah, a proud mother talking with her daughter. The pride flies off the page.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  I am glad you enjoyed this ficlet.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 00:28 Title: I Got Stripes

I like this story. Very realistic. Relationships between parents and their adult children are complex, and you handled it very well.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 19:29 Title: I Got Stripes

Great look into the past here, when the in's and out's of Starfleet probably weren't as familiar to the public as they are in later series. You've done a good job with the competetive nature that had to exist, too. I'm willing to bet it destroyed a lot of relationships.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  I figure the top assignments have to be competitive since there's only 12 Constitution-class ships.  It probably did destroy a lot of relationships.

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 18:39 Title: I Got Stripes

got a thumb up for featuring a redhead but it was a very well written piece which means I must check out the seris properly one I have a moment to do so.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  Cojocaru is going to be an interesting character.  Please feel free to check out the series when you have a moment.  It's still in it's infancy, but I'll update the thread on the forums when there is a new chapter, and there is already one in the first full length novel, Baptism of Fire.  Just look for the cover that looks like Kirk's chair.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 17:27 Title: I Got Stripes

Awww. Liking seeing another face on the Constitution crew. Again, the picture hints at more to the character backstory. And I like how this time, nothing too major or connected to the others. Another facet to the developing crew and of course her new rank, new ship and new assignment is going to come with new challenges. Looking forward to them all.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  I know with the challenge I'm not going to get to everyone, but it is allowing me to peel some layers off.  I'm glad you're looking forward.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 14:53 Title: I Got Stripes

That is very nice story Mick, I enjoyied the mother and daughter interaction. Well done.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 11:47 Title: I Got Stripes

I like this, especially the brooding mother wishing her Starfleet officer daughter could have stayed on another ship because of the man she was dating! A nice little soap opera moment :) I liked that. Look forward to seeing how this wraps up.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  I knew it was slightly going to feel like a soap opera with that, but I really didn't have time to dive any deeper with such a short word count.  It worked out though.  

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 11:22 Title: I Got Stripes

Oh, this is so lovely. Looks like Elena's dreams are coming true.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.  It does look that way indeed.  I'm really looking forward to writing for her.  

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 11:10 Title: I Got Stripes

Aw, what a nice moment you have set up here Mick between Elena and her mom. So she got promoted. Awesome.

Wonder what's in store for Day 6?

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  It was a very nice moment, and I'm pleased with how it turned out.  

As for day 6, I don't know what's coming yet.  I only have a title and a basic idea at the moment.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 10:50 Title: I Got Stripes

Awww.  It seems like these two don't get to talk often at all.  Which is realistic, gien the distances involved, but still sad.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.  I'm glad it turned to be realistic, even with the Consititution being in orbit of Earth, distance isn't always a good thing when it comes to family.

You must login (register) to review.