You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 20:30 Title: Drinkin My Baby Goodbye

Oh my.  How's he going to handle it when he finds out Anita has just accepted a position as his new CMO?  I get the feeling the bit of overindulging was due just as much to his failed chance with Anita as it was to his failed marriage to Janice.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 14:37 Title: Drinkin My Baby Goodbye

Ouch...that's harsh. Interesting to see the captain with real problems that he'll have to deal with outside of command, too. But ouch...

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 18:32 Title: Drinkin My Baby Goodbye

Classy and not to mention a sighting of 602. A nice little piece here.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.  I felt like it wasn't tieing into the Trek universe enough, so I felt like setting at the 602 would accomplish just that.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 21:07 Title: Drinkin My Baby Goodbye

Wow, that sucks.  That's never fun at all, and honestly, I think Vreymal needs to sit there and babysit his friend while he indulges, because right about now he deserves it.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  While I did consider having that happen, I felt like someone needed to take the higher road, and it sure wasn't going to be Alex.  You're probably right here, but ultimately I don't think it would have worked for me the way it did if I had gone that direction.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 18:49 Title: Drinkin My Baby Goodbye

Sad to see that even in the 23rd Century lawyers and divorce can still wreck a good man. Still was a nicely handled 602 bar scene. Well done.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.  It's like George Strait says, "sometimes two people just don't get along," and that's what happened here.  I felt like at first it was missing the Trek connection which is why I changed the setting to the 602.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 18:33 Title: Drinkin My Baby Goodbye

Leave it to good friends to take care of us when we can't take care of ourselves. I almost feel sorry for Alex, just getting over a breakup, and with no clue who has just agreed to serve aboard his ship. I'll be wanting to see where this goes.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.  Having never had this experience, I struggled with the emotions, but in the end it worked.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 13:23 Title: Drinkin My Baby Goodbye

Ouch, that has to hurt. Good job creating another relatable, interesting character, and I really liked the interplay between him and Vreymal (especially the little insult greetings at the beginning). I really wonder how all of this is going to come together, you're doing a great job so far!

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  I forget how I came up with that friendly insult, but I remember that on Enterprise Shran referrred to Archer as pink skin, so I got to thinking, what do Andorians look like?  I'm glad you liked the interplay between them.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 13:18 Title: Drinkin My Baby Goodbye

Well he doesn't seem like an asshole. Alcohol never solves anything, I wonder if he's an angry drunk and perhaps that's why so many people are pissed at him? Really enjoying the story, Mick!

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.  In all honesty, I haven't even thought about what kind of drunk he is.  I can tell you this, it's not something that will happen very often to him.  I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 12:35 Title: Drinkin My Baby Goodbye

Heartbreak. Booze. They go together like peanut butter and chocolate. Hate to see anyone get cheated on (one of the worst things you can ever do to a person, IMO) but Alex's friend is right: this will pass, too. Good job capturing the moment between friends.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  The situation depicted in this particular story is one I haven't experienced.  A lot of the heart of it came through personal observation, and from some tv shows as well.  It worked out really well and peeled a layer off of Alex.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 11:21 Title: Drinkin My Baby Goodbye

So there's family dramas and space no doubt is an escape for Alex. But as bad as his marriage has turned out it seems that underneath it all Janice was a bad choice for Alex who's heart obviously truly lay elsewhere. And now in current Constituion sit elite it looks like Alex is about to bump into Anita again.  A chance to rekindle things and right past mistakes? Or make new mistakes?



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.  All I can say right now is wait and see where it all goes my friend.  :)

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 10:48 Title: Drinkin My Baby Goodbye

Oh, Alex, you've got issues. And you have no idea who's signed on to your ship ....



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.  I look at it like this, without issues, there's no drama, and that would make for avery boring story.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 10:40 Title: Drinkin My Baby Goodbye

Sounds like Alex is having a hard time after a break up. I like that Vreymal helped him out and told him to go home instead of just drown himself away in the drink.

I look forward to your next installment MIck.

Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  I'm glad you liked that element.  It worked out really well I thought.

You must login (register) to review.