You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 12:50 Title: Small White Butterfly

Nice that was a sweet ending that show how much the two characters connected and understand each other.
Sound a very nice picture and a meaningful gift.

Congratulations upon completing your TToT 2014 ficlet challenge.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 09:43 Title: Small White Butterfly

Sweet.  I really liked this whole series.  Punctuating her life with butterflies is such a cool idea.  I feel like I know her a lot better now.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 20:46 Title: Small White Butterfly

Very nice how it came full circle, TS - and that the final butterfly in Jessiy's collection (to date, anyway) symbolizes Justine's healing - or maybe healing for both of them in a way.  I enjoyed reading this very much.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 20:39 Title: Nightmare

This was really a neat take on the Borg and their abilities.  Hate to admit it, but this had me flashing to the apple trees that were 'alive' in The Wizard of Oz.  Horrifying to think that not only other sentient beings, but the flora and fauna as well can fall under the influence of the Borg, and be just as deadly.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 20:33 Title: Darklight Stinger

Likr Jessiy, we tend to think that things that are beautiful (like butterflies) are safe.  Nice twist here, to let us know that danger takes many shapes, and many forms.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 20:29 Title: Risian Swallowtail

So sad - this hearkens back to a simpler time, and yet one that was fraught with complications as well.  I remember this dynamic, and the volleyball tournament, and what comes after.  Both bittersweet and endearing for Jessiy.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 20:21 Title: Viceroy

This was great - no battles, no painful memories, just a pleasant hearkening back to her first day at the Academy.  I can't help but feel that the chance encounter with the Viceroy was meant to tell her something - not to rush into things, especially now that she's a captain, but slow down (whenever possible) and carefully analyze a given situation before reacting.

And glad to see she was just late for class - as bad as that is, I was imagining her missing an exam or something - every student's worst nightmare.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 19:35 Title: Small White Butterfly

Very nice closing, TS. Thanks for sharing this story. It's good to see that we're capable of having tender endings too!

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 17:21 Title: Small White Butterfly

And it comes full circle, that the redemption of a pristine* (and matured) butterfly, out of its chrysalis, symbolizes Justine, just as the blue butterfly symbolizes Jess.

Well done!

*Rhyme between pristine and Justine purely coincidental, I swear.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 17:10 Title: Small White Butterfly

And a sweet ending to this series. A very well thought out and executed group of ficlets, a glimpse into a single person's life through such a wonderful symbol. Well done.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 17:06 Title: Nightmare

Oh hell no! A Borg butterfly? That is a nightmare all right. What a great idea - a Borg assimilated planet. Such great description and you could totally feel Jessica's despair. Nicely done.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 16:09 Title: Small White Butterfly

Aww. Bliss. That was sweet and endearing and a touching gift from Justine. Makes one root for these two and all the troubles they face. Really nice job on this ficlet and on all these ficlets. All were a pleasure (ok Borg Butterfly doesn't quite fit with the description pleasure but you know what I mean) to read. Thank you.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 14:55 Title: Nightmare

The idea that the Borg can assimilate a planet in the same way they assimilate people is...horrifying. This was well written, and I enjoyed seeing how each of the butterflies tied into memories, not always pleasant, of Jessica.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 14:20 Title: Small White Butterfly

Aw, Justine painted Jessica a white butterfly. That was sweet of her to do. Thanks so much for sharing this, the ending was perfect. :)

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:45 Title: Small White Butterfly

Very nice work Temp, quite touching in its way and moving.

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 12:48 Title: Andorian Ice Fly

Very well written as she relives the memory of that  moment. It really flows nicely.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 02:16 Title: Nightmare

Vega Colony has always needed more story to it, even after the tutorial revision.. I mean the revision is much better than the original, but it still just felt lacking. I love that you took the situation and expanded it, made it more human.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 20:07 Title: Nightmare

The Borg as gray goo.  Makes total sense, actually.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 20:06 Title: Darklight Stinger

Yeah, alien bugs are usually a bad idea.  Poor Jessiy.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 19:39 Title: Nightmare

And the Borg finally make an appearance. Horrid things, they are and a memory that no one wants. Well done capturing the loss and regret here.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 19:37 Title: Darklight Stinger

Ah, the embarassing first failure on a mission. Every cadet has them.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 18:12 Title: Nightmare

A nightmare indeed. No one and nothing is safe.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 17:14 Title: Nightmare

My God you went there. I didn't - never would have thought it of you. It's genius. It's horrific. It's scary new Borg level of threat. It's nightmarish stuff. It's a terrific addition to these ficlets. AND for jessica the trnasformation of an innocent and beautiful butterfly is a sickening possible parallel to the fate of those she loved. Horrific. Terrific storytelling.



Author's Response: As much as I wish I could take credit for the concept of the "infection," that's an element of the game that is featured in a number of missions. Scary thought, though, like you said, and incredibly hopeless. I'm glad you enjoyed the parallel

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 17:12 Title: Nightmare

The Borg are the ultimate nightmare. "They have the power to assimiliate planets" (I'm chanelling big ears from Star Trek III). In seriousness a tight, dark story and all that in less than 500. Like it TS

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 16:55 Title: Nightmare

A good view of the Borg damage to Vega Colony.
Nice story of the assimilated butterfly.

You must login (register) to review.