Reviews For Federation Day
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 08:05 Title: Resistance is Futile

How intriguing. Looks like galactic unification may be on the menu.

I like the J; isn't that the one that was shown to Archer as being where there were Xindi serving? Can't wait to see where you take us next, and when.



Author's Response: Yeah, that is the J. Always loved the idea of it, am hoping to write some more about it. This and the next two ficlets are hopefully going to act as a set-up for a new story I'm working on so if you like it, look out for that in the next couple of weeks! (shameless plug over) :)

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 07:31 Title: Resistance is Futile

The Borg Alliance!  And who better to welcome them than Data?  I love how each vignette calls back to the last in an unbroken string through time. This is so well done. I'm jealous!



Author's Response: Aw shucks! Thanks! I really didn't know how I was going to pull off that unbroken sense but thankfully it came to me as I went. And don't be jealous, you've been kicking ass with your Tesseract Icheb stuff as well!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 21:02 Title: Glimmers of Future Hope

Spock and Worf!  So awesome!



Author's Response: Not long indeed... :) Just kidding, thanks for any comment whatsoever!!! :) Glad you liked it

Reviewer: MIck Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 20:25 Title: Glimmers of Future Hope

Good choice of characters here.  Looking forward to more.  



Author's Response: Thanks Mick!

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 18:14 Title: Glimmers of Future Hope

Interesting choice of characters but well helm and both characters words and presence add real weight to the story.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked the choice, I thought they were two characters who we never got to see meet but who would have a lot in common.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 17:28 Title: Glimmers of Future Hope

Loved this one...very true to both Spock's and Worf's characters. A nice moment between them. I also like how you emphasise the fact that Spock occasionally smiles, which shows just how much he has begun embracing his human side, not giving up his Vulcanness, or his humanity, but finding a blend that works for him.

Author's Response: Thanks. Spock always works best in my opinion when he has that balance - the stiff-upper lip Vulcan who occasionally embraces his emotional human side. A blend that works for him: I like that! Thanks for the comment.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 17:03 Title: Glimmers of Future Hope

Awesome piece. I love the linkage this time being Spock. And how different it all is. We see a vastly different Spock here as well as a vastly different Starfleet with Klingons and many others and of course the nods to the future too of Trek and Starfleet. Brilliant choice and a fascinating encounter.



Author's Response: Thanks man! Means a lot. This is the last ficlet in the time we know, so looking forward to seeing what you think of what will happen next... :D

Reviewer: TPhoenix Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 15:50 Title: Glimmers of Future Hope

OK, I love the concept of these two characters entertaining. This is one scene that I would like to see portrayed somehow in the show.

Author's Response: Yeah, wouldn't that be awesome?! :) Hey, they're both still alive, so we can always dream... Although Michael Dorn may be a bit old now to play an ensign Worf... :)

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 13:52 Title: Glimmers of Future Hope

Ah, the respective outsiders uniting together in the gym. Spock's right here, the Federation continues to embrace and grow as the years go by. A neat little scene. Well done.



Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed this! Glad the theme is coming across nicely!

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 13:33 Title: Glimmers of Future Hope

I think Worf's early days in Starfleet would be interesting and this story proves it. I like the exchange between Worf and Spock, and of course we all know that what Spock hopes for eventually comes to pass in the form of Nog. I'm really loving this series and the way it celebrates the Federation.

Author's Response: Yeah, when looking into this era, Worf seemed the best possible representation of how the Federation has changed. Glad you caught my not so subtle nod to Nog. So glad you're liking this!

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 13:29 Title: Glimmers of Future Hope

Sarine you've done it again. I can say that this story has become one of one of my favorites.

I cannot wait to see where you go next.

Author's Response: Aw chucks! Thank you so much z. So glad you're liking these. Tomorrow, we'll jump another hundred years and see how the Federation fares past the Borg incursions, Dominion wars, etc.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 13:25 Title: Glimmers of Future Hope

I love this. Just as Chekov was the promise of TOS that the West and Russia (and China, too, with Sulu) would make peace, Worf is the TNG promise that TOS's enemies would become friends. And then in DS9 we see a Ferengi.

Will the circle be unbroken? Let's see what tomorrow brings.



Author's Response: Thanks jespah. When organising these ficlets, I wanted the character interactions to follow the theme of the growth of the Federation and Worf seemed a key component of that. I like your parallel to Chekov and Nog. As to your question... Indeed, you will see tomorrow as we jump another hundred years into so far uncharted waters! :D

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 11:59 Title: Infinite Diversity

Wonderful continuation. The crew seen in The Cage always intrigued me. I think I would have enjoyed that version of TOS more than the actual TOS, to some extent. I liked Pike and I liked the idea of him having a female first officer. Awesome exchange between Pike and Spock. It seemed very natural; looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Yeah, some of the Pike Enterprise characters were great, I would have especially liked to see more of the doctor and the first officer. I'm glad you liked the exchange, I enjoyed writing it. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 01:53 Title: Infinite Diversity

I love Pike, and how much is open for everyone to write him since he only ever showed up twice. Fun to see him having a few of the same problems with Spock that Kirk had.

Author's Response: Yeah, Pike is definitely an interesting character. It was great fun to be able to write him, especially with Spock. In fact, I think he probably had less problem with Spock than Kirk, Spock seemed to react to Pike in a different way than he did with the younger captain. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: MIck Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 21:49 Title: Infinite Diversity

Oh, the Pike era, something we don't see very often.  Loved this scene.  I was able to hear the character's voices as I read it.  You put Spock into what had to be an uncomfortable situation for him, and it worked veyr well.



Author's Response: Indeed, not a period or a character we see much of. This seemed like a good opportunity. I'm glad you felt I did a good job capturing the characters voices. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 18:58 Title: Infinite Diversity

Nicely done. I am enjoying this series very much. Spock would drink for a logical reason, and Pike found one to give him. I love that you chose Pike, here. I don't think we see enough of him.

Author's Response: Thanks! I always liked Pike and it seemed like a nice idea to include him in these especially considering the era of the 100 year anniversary. glad you liked it!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 16:34 Title: Past Prologue

:echo: I'm in your ear



Author's Response: Ok, stop that! :) And loved your comment on Icheb's story correcting my mistake. I stand corrected! :)

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 15:27 Title: Infinite Diversity

Nicely done again, always good to see Pike and Spock.

Author's Response: Thanks!!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 14:59 Title: Infinite Diversity

Aw awesome. I love how Pike not so much outsmarts or outlogics Spock but uses strategy to best him. Yet similarly, he's meeting Spock halfway and I think allowing Spock the opportunity to be Vulcan and Human. The man is made of win. Rarely do we see him enough in fanfic (or fanfic I've read other than Steff's) so I really like reading him here. Who knew Sarine, you've a budding TOS/ENT era author in you. :whisper softly: embrace it



Author's Response: Spock at this point is the perfect embodiment of the Federation, the result of two members of two very different races managing to set aside their differences and find common ground that leads to love. I definitely wanted to get that across, as well as Pike and Spock meeting half way. A budding TOS/ENT author in me? Perhaps. Perhaps... :) PS: That whisper was really creepy. Get out from behind my ear, man! :)

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 13:52 Title: Infinite Diversity

Long as it's not about gazelles, I'm on board. ;)

Seriously, though, how difficult that time has got to be for Spock. He's so isolated (and he makes it far worse with his own actions). I love Pike in any story line and I can absolutely see him doing something like this. Just trying to meet someone halfway and, by doing so, living the ideals of the Federation.



Author's Response: Not sure I got the gazelles reference... ? Yes, I wanted Pike to be given the opportunity to help Spock come out of his shell - I always got the impression that he had to have been a huge influence on him. Thanks!

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 12:20 Title: Infinite Diversity

Ah, Pike. Another fine installment Sarine. Pike got Spock to take an alcoholic beverage. Now he's the second captain to get him to do such a thing.

Thanks for sharing this.

Cannot wait to see what you come up with for Day #4.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you. I really enjoyed writing these two characters, Pike's Enterprise is definitely intriguing. Hope you'll like what I have for Day 4, another hundred year jump so we're into the end of the Lost Years, a few years before Next Gen, if that gives you any hints... :)

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 11:41 Title: Infinite Diversity

Pike was such an important figure for Spock's development yet we really don't get a chance to see it. The exchange here was pitch-perfect. Great work.



Author's Response: Agreed! That is what I wanted to show, at a small level, in this one. Thanks for the kind comment!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 09:20 Title: Infinite Diversity

Pike for the win!  

I loved this.  I read it in their voices, completely.  And I love the call back to yesterday's entry.  I also loved how Pike gave Spock the consideration he was due without forcing anything on him.  So great.  You're really rocking these.



Author's Response: Thank you kes! I have always liked the idea of Pike, think he is a great character who has not been sufficiently explored. I changed my mind halfway through, initially I had Pike being a little more forceful, but realised that to uphold the ideals he was talking about he needed to share just as much of Spock's culture as he was asking Spock to share with him. So glad you're liking these!

Reviewer: MIck Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 22:23 Title: Founding Fathers

I just finished watching Enterprise, and you got Archer's voice down.  Good job!  Looking forward to more.



Author's Response: Thanks Mick! As I said to RogueJawa, I was quite worried about my appropriation of Archer's voice, so cool to know that you feel I got it. More coming soon!

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 20:19 Title: Founding Fathers

Oh very nice! You painted such a beautiful setting, and the way you wrote Archer was perfect. I could hear him saying every word!

Author's Response: Oh great! I was worried about Archer's voice so I'm happy to know it came across ok. Glad you enjoyed the little ficlet!

You must login (register) to review.