You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 May 2014 15:16 Title: Through a Narrow Barred Window

Damn.  Dark, chilling and exceptionally well-done.  

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Apr 2014 12:01 Title: Through a Narrow Barred Window

Vivid story, deep even. Woven a profound tale in such a short space and a noble warrior too. Quite something MF.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Mar 2014 19:02 Title: Through a Narrow Barred Window

Beautiful and haunting prose, expertly manipulated by the master.  The repetition seemed to echo days of similar monotony for Ryaenn, interspersed with moments of sheer terror.  She seems like one tough mo' fo' though, and I'd hate to be on her bad side...

Wonderful use of the challenge line - it almost felt like it became her mantra, the shred of humanity she clung to to keep her sane - well, as sane as anyone could be when living through a situation like that.  Wonderful  piece - not the topic so much but the style and the sense of determination to survive at all costs it portrayed, as well as make those responsible pay for their wanton acts of cruelty.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much LBD. Really nice thoughts on the piece and the fact you liked the style and sense of determination. Ryaenn's story is quite haunting but inspiring too because of surviving it. I love your insights into the repetition of the prose. My great and many thanks for reading.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Mar 2014 16:44 Title: Through a Narrow Barred Window

A perfect balance of the light and the dark, with few words and clever use of reputation, you deliver a hard hitting and painfully believable short story.

Author's Response:

Why thank you FalseBill. Kind words indeed.

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Mar 2014 15:17 Title: Through a Narrow Barred Window

Captivating. Pure poetry. You are an excellent writer.



Author's Response:

Thank you M C Pehrson for that comment. Made my day. Glad you liked the piece.

Reviewer: TheLoneRedshirt Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Mar 2014 12:49 Title: Through a Narrow Barred Window

A chilling (if you will pardon the pun) glimpse into Cyste Ryaenne's history and psyche. Beautiful imagery, as much poetry as prose. You hinted of her tortured past in your Aegolius Harrier stories. Thanks for a more detailed glimpse behind the curtain - exceptional!

Author's Response:

I always love and appreciate a comment from yourself TLR. And as nice a comment as that, especially so. Thank you greatly.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Mar 2014 23:01 Title: Through a Narrow Barred Window

Cyste Ryaenn has undeniably had a hard live and no time is that made more unmistakably clear as in this uncompromising and strangely poetic account of the horror she endured as a prisoner of war.

Author's Response:

Thank you CeJay. Yes, Ryaenn has definitely had a hard time. Glad this piece helped to convey that without the need to detail it as in A Question of Survival.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Mar 2014 20:45 Title: Through a Narrow Barred Window

Wow! I loved this narrative. It makes me want to get to know Cyste even more. Andoria has such a unique culture, I've always wanted to read more about them after watching Enterprise.

Author's Response:

Thank you RogueJawa. I too love Andoria and Andorians - and yes this was formed by seeing them in Enterprise. It took me a long time to write an Andorian strangely. But I'm very glad that I now get to explore my very own one. And I'm glad you liked reading about Cyste. There's plenty more of her story already here and there's more to come. Hope you check them out someday.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Mar 2014 20:29 Title: Through a Narrow Barred Window

Eek dammit now I'm a-gonna have nightmares.

Creepy, chilling, and excellent.



Author's Response:

Thank you jespah. Hopefully, that means it worked on some level.

You must login (register) to review.