You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Jan 2014 20:04 Title: Chapter 6 - The Smell of Home

Imaginative story Jespah, very nice.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much!

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Dec 2013 12:40 Title: Chapter 6 - The Smell of Home

Great ending.  I just wish there was some way for those aboard the Enterprise-D to know they were successful.  And for those on the NX-01 -- just think of how jealous they'd be if they knew Porthos had gotten a view of the future.  Maybe T'Pol can mind meld with him and find out where he went. ;-)



Author's Response:

Ha I never thought of that, but in canon she's rather standoffish with him (she can't really get past his aroma). And I just had this vision of someone catching him in mid-reentry and the story kind of grew from that.

Thank you so much for reading!!

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Dec 2013 12:35 Title: Chapter 5 - The Princess

Aww.  ::total squee::  Really, really cute chapter, and I feel Spot's thoughts were right on--I distinctly get the impression from our cat Dewey that he is soooo frustrated with us at times for not completely understanding what he wants, or is thinking.  Unlike the dogs, who are always happy. ;-)

I like it that both sides (and time periods) are working together to get Porthos home, even if they don't realize it.  It never ceases to amaze me how quickly animals can work their way into your heart, as Porthos clearly did, on both ships.



Author's Response:

Everybody wants to do right (although they might not be too sure of how to do it). And yeah, a quick nose touch. :)

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Dec 2013 12:10 Title: Chapter 4 - Furry Heroes

Yay!  Chalk one up for Porthos and Spot!  And take it from me, not only do dogs and cats get along, they DO worry about each other.  We have two dogs, two cats and two mice.  Our female cat rubs on our LBD Max all the time, and Max gets very upset and agitated when he feels that anything is wrong with any of the other animals. ;-)

I am so loving these thought processes--can almost hear my menagerie communicating to each other the same way.  This rocks, jespah! :D



Author's Response:

I thank you - I figure they can all talk to each other, and they wonder why we can't.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Dec 2013 11:58 Title: Chapter 3 - The Hull Breach

Ouch!  Awful to know that Porthos is gone, but to have no idea where he is, or what happened to him.  I feel for Archer, and Lili, who is undoubtedly blaming herself.  It'll be interesting to see if they can figure out where he went and how to get him back, or if that task will be left to the Enterprise-D crew.



Author's Response:

It has to be scary on their end. On the TNG side, it's just amusing, but for Archer, etc., they've got to assume the worst.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Dec 2013 11:39 Title: Chapter 2 - Spot’s New Playmate

The 'verbal interaction' between Porthos and Spot is great, and spot-on (no pun intended. ;)).  I love how they figured out who Porthos is, and to whom and where he belongs.  Now comes the hard part -- how to get him back.



Author's Response:

Oh, yay! Cats are such a mystery to me. Dogs I know. So - awesome. I'm so glad it's working for you. :)

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Dec 2013 11:30 Title: Chapter 1 - The Smell of Spatial Anomalies

I LOVE this beginning, especially the windows into Porthos's and Spot's thoughts!  This is gonna be a fun ride. :D



Author's Response:

Oh, thanks! I love writing animal POV - had never written cat POV before.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Dec 2013 03:02 Title: Chapter 6 - The Smell of Home

Aw, happy ending. Even the shy and somewhat unsure of herself Lili seems to have found another purpose.

Again, I thought bringing together Trek's two foremost pets on a shared adventure was brilliant.

Well done.

Author's Response:

Many thanks; I'm so glad you liked Porthos and Spot's little adventure. :)

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Dec 2013 06:54 Title: Chapter 6 - The Smell of Home

lovely conclusion,

Did love princess Spot, coming to Data to comply with Porthos request and make Geordi look wrong, how very cat like.

Then Porthos getting Lili snapped hair-tie so he can play with the string as per Princess Spot request.
A very clever and well though out take on favourite things.

Well done, here hoping for more from both Porthos and the future cat in the future ;-)

Author's Response:

Aw, thanks - though I have no idea how I'd get them back together again. ;)

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Dec 2013 16:20 Title: Chapter 5 - The Princess

Look at T'Pol showing real heart here for a Vulcan. Nicely done.

And the name thing actually explains a lot about cats. And who said they can't get along with dogs?

Cute story, very well done.

Author's Response:

Thank you - just one more piece and then we're done.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Dec 2013 16:12 Title: Chapter 4 - Furry Heroes

Well good thing Crusher has some vet training, apparently. And those Ferengi will think twice before boarding another Starfleet vessel, after all you'll never know what kind of fearsome pets you may encounter.

And why exactly doesn't every sickbay come with a bat?

Author's Response:

Every Sick Bay needs a bat! :)

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Dec 2013 16:05 Title: Chapter 3 - The Hull Breach

Aw man, the worst news for a dog owner is to hear that their beloved pet had disappeared. That's a crushing blow for Archer. But there is hope ..

Author's Response:

I knew it would have to be scary on their end of things.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Dec 2013 16:01 Title: Chapter 2 - Spot’s New Playmate

Well, it was only a question of time until the two most famous Starfleet pets met, never mind that there a few centuries between them. In this universe, anything is possible.

And good call by Archer to fit Porthos with a microchip. The man loves his dog, so it's a no brainer.

Author's Response:

I figure it'll be more or less mandatory for purebreds.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Dec 2013 15:54 Title: Chapter 1 - The Smell of Spatial Anomalies

Great start of another grand Porthos adventure. Is it just me or does Spot sound a little smarter than Porthos? Cats are suppose to be the smarter species, let's see if that's true here as well.

Author's Response:

I think Spot is less distracted by all of the smells. :)

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Dec 2013 11:51 Title: Chapter 5 - The Princess

Now that is special.

I like how the two crew logic seems right and in-sink yet being different at the same time. Glad to hear T'Pol point out that Porthos is key to crew morale.
I do love how the two animals interact so true to both Cat and Dog mentalities and yet still friends. Did enjoy learning Spot real name is Princess.
I look forward to seeing the conclusion now.

Author's Response:

I thank you. I have observed a lot of pets in my life (more dogs than cats, actually). Dogs, I have to figure, are all about how things smell and sound, and about pleasing the person(s) who they feel are their Alpha and who take care of them and can do no wrong. Cats, I think, are more aloof because they feel a bit misunderstood than anything else. They also feel they are responsible for us, and that has to be daunting.

Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Dec 2013 09:27 Title: Chapter 4 - Furry Heroes

Furry Heroes Indeed!
Porthos to the rescue of Spot and the Enterprise-D.
Still nice to see in the future even cats and dogs can get along fine. I'm so enjoying this tale.

Author's Response:

My thanks to you.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Dec 2013 09:17 Title: Chapter 3 - The Hull Breach

O nicely done.
The balance between the TNG crew puzzlement and the ENT Crew sense of lost.
Lili guilt is well balanced and Archer reactions to the lost of a life-sign and then being told there a beagle life-sign short feel so well done.

Author's Response:

Many thanks to you.

Reviewer: the bluesman Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Dec 2013 23:55 Title: Chapter 1 - The Smell of Spatial Anomalies

More Porthos, yay! That dog will get his own ship some day. Great job!

Author's Response:

Somewhere in the multiverse, Porthos is a captain.

I should write that.

Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Dec 2013 14:39 Title: Chapter 2 - Spot’s New Playmate

Excellent more Porthos.
Still I feel Porthos reactions to Spot, Data and the TNG guess stars seem well done.
Plus I did love Spot reaction to Porthos need for Archer, felt true to the cat, plus Spot secretly like her metal master.

Author's Response:

Oh, she definitely does; she just wishes he'd call her by her true cat name. And in true cat fashion, she has no way to tell him what it is.

Thanks!

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Dec 2013 06:48 Title: Chapter 1 - The Smell of Spatial Anomalies

What a treat for us More Porthos adventures and with a guest star spot for Spot.

As always you mix Porthos world-view with the human version of events on the NX-01 with skill, looking forward to the next part.

Author's Response:

Thanks!

Reviewer: TarisianDreams Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Dec 2013 07:37 Title: Chapter 1 - The Smell of Spatial Anomalies

Oh boy!! This is an early Christmas for sure! Great start! I can't wait to see how things progress and how Spot and Porthos interact!

Author's Response:

Thanks! More to come!!

You must login (register) to review.