You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2014 04:35 Title: Calym

That was so engrossing I didn't even review the individual pieces. I'd like to read more in the story of Dax...

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2013 03:59 Title: Calym

I should like to see more of this-you still have 199 years to cover.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2013 03:58 Title: Calym

199 years? Wow. And so Dax lives...to foster hope, and a Rebellion.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2013 03:56 Title: A Light in the Darkness

Funny how the Fall of the Federation segment is the happiest piece of this work so far.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2013 03:55 Title: The Death of Trill

Grim. But Dax survives-for now.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2013 03:53 Title: Titan

And now Titan...very interesting the way you are weaving all of this together...

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2013 03:52 Title: The Battle of Bajor

This is not a happy universe you operate in.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2013 03:50 Title: Ezri

Interesting difference in perspective as to how Ezri gets her symbiont.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2013 03:49 Title: The Battle of Kaskora

That's chilling...

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 May 2013 13:10 Title: Calym

A poignant scene. A touching end to this series of ficlets but also an immensely rewarding piece for the author and to bring a greater insight into your universe and show some of the pieces of the  missing timeline and of course fill in some of the gaps of Dax's life.

This is a fantastic series of ficlet for this reason but this piece alone is worth it all for the simple, refined, deftly handled piece that renders this a moment of serenity, a moment of sadness, a moment of hope and a moment of passing the torch.

With the death of Ezri we feel we lose one of the last links back to the fall of the Federation but with the continued survival of Dax we have an important touchstone with that past. The presence of Data also lends to that sense of history and holding to the past and moving to the future.

Nice tidbits here too about the survival of the Federation in some guise. With Data as a titular leading figure, lending such vital importance to the survival of the Trill symboints as important for the future hope of the Federation.

For all the darkness, the stark fate that befell the Federation and so many of our canon heroes that you end this story on what is not just a rendered beautiful almost death scene but yet we are left with a sense of hope, of swelling pride in our chests (as readers and for Calym) as the call is made to make a brave and important choice.

Reviewer: ErinJean Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2013 22:59 Title: Calym

And there she goes. And the fact that it makes me tear up is an amazing thing. You've written something very special, and I'll never look at her the same way on screen again.

Reviewer: ErinJean Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2013 22:57 Title: A Light in the Darkness

She calls upon them all to remember how to be a leader. See, the thing was, while I always really adored Ezri, I suffered from the death of Jadzia and as a result couldn't attach to her the same way. It left me missing something. I feel like reading these snippets has given that something back. Thank you for it.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 15:58 Title: A Light in the Darkness

You convey the surrender of the Federation so well. No heroic final last gasp more of a long protracted suffocation, one system after the other. Of course, surrender of the authorities does not mean the surrender of the people, of those holding the line. Ezri makes a bold decision and one her crew will take with her. The fight, the Federation will continue in some form. A bright speech from Ezri which seems fititng of her character that a stirring speech should be trying to strike such a hopeful note despite everything.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 15:53 Title: The Death of Trill

Truly a hard impacting chapter. The stomach falling out of Ezri Dax mirrored a similar same sensation I had myself when I read this. Some powerful stuff here and now the reality for Ezri and for Dax is forever altered. The loss of friends and colleagues is huge but to lose home, family especially with how much home and family it si considering the Dax symbiont is completely bewildering, huge, and incomprehensible.

The Trill in ways are Trek's Dr Who Timelords, the chance to rejuvenate and reinvent but to carry onwards with those memories shaping and informing the timelord. But now like the Doctor, Dax is like the last (maybe not the very last) of her people. There's something huge about that. Hard to convey in words and the pull to retort, to act back, to fight valiantly but futilely against those is strong but the wisdom of Nog is what calls her to her senses/ Great gripping stuff.

Reviewer: ErinJean Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 22:51 Title: The Death of Trill

Oh, Ezri. She remind me a little of the Doctor. Last of his race, having to choose survival and life instead of vengeance so many times. This was aching.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 21:58 Title: Calym

Ah, Data. Good to see him still kicking, still going. But poor Ezri. She dies now but her symbiont lives on. Calym looks to be a good person. I'm wondering how the symbiont goes from him to Haebron ... what led Dax there? This has been a fascinating series to read and I hope you expand upon it more. You've made me like Ezri. That takes skill, sir. Well done.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 20:29 Title: Calym

Beautiful.  The torch will be passed, for I have no doubt Calym will rise to the challenge.  Data is wise not to force him, and to remind him that knowledge is power, and it's the one thing that can contribute to the rebels' success.  A fitting ending to this series of vignettes.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 20:23 Title: A Light in the Darkness

And so, in the face of ultimate defeat, hope floats...

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 20:20 Title: The Death of Trill

Oh the need for vengeance.  To make heads roll; to make those responsible pay the ultimate price.  Ezri and Dax can be forgiven their moment of white-hot anger and blinding desire for retribution.  Thank goodness cooler heads prevailed in the form of Nog.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 20:10 Title: Titan

I don't know a lot about Dax's backstory but I do like how you are subtley showing the memories and experiences of everyone Dax has been joined to, and of Ezri's attempt to guard and protect the thoughts and actions of those who have gone before her.

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 19:49 Title: Calym

And all fall down. Fantastic collection of stories and this final entry delivered both a death knell but also a hint of hope to come. "Brothers of Man, fighting to survive..."

Very nicely done.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 19:37 Title: The Battle of Bajor

Absolutely brilliant.  You could feel her indecision, her disbelief, not only of the fact that Defiant was lost, but that she was the ranking officer left--thrust into a position she clearly didn't feel she was ready for.  And all of it playing out to the soft undercurrent of Jadzia's sorrow.  It reminded me of those bits in film (Saving Private Ryan especially) when the action goes to slow-motion and the sound cuts out, lending that visceral feel of confusion.  You captured that beautifully.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 18:57 Title: Calym

Ah, and the cycle continues!

Let the circle be unbroken.

Well done!

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 18:52 Title: Calym

Amazing stuff, filling in so many little gaps and answering so many questions about The Fall. Nicely executed!

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 18:49 Title: A Light in the Darkness

A gut wrenching order that Dax and her crew are only too happy to violate. Set course for anywhere but here...

You must login (register) to review.