Reviews For Contrast
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 11:21 Title: Twenty-Two Forty-Two

I guess I have to read some of your other works to fully appreciate the significance of this friendship (perhaps even relationship) between Corry and Scotty. I get the thing about contrast, and how it showed up in each chapter, so they compliment each other is that what?

Author's Response: You must have swiss-cheese for memory, man. :P

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 11:12 Title: Twelve

Again not sure where this is going, though I assume the same divide is such that it is a section for Scotty on top and a section for Corry below?

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 11:10 Title: Ten

So Scotty and Corry have best friends of sorts but they are not really the best of friends, so this build-up continues until Scotty and Corry finally meet.

Also, and this may be a far-fetched assumption, but I got the impression that Corry just doesn't like girls period. By that I mean he will be friends with him but he's not attracted to the opposite sex.

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 11:07 Title: Eight

Not sure where this is going, but I have feeling this is a setup for Scotty and Corry's first meeting. On a different it's cool you have underplayed the character's Scottish accents, it still sounds Scottish but without the exaggeration.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 04:28 Title: Twenty-Two Forty-Two

Love it. Contrast but completion (of a sorts) and so thrilled to see that Andy (Corry now) does indeed use the line about/to Scotty: But you're not a pebble either. Excellent.



Author's Response: Thanks, man. <3

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 04:25 Title: Eighteen

I love it. The contrasts again and the use of a theme or motif. This time the music. Scotty finding solace and comfort in music, a sort of therapy and despite his not quite having a place in the world or universe he can lose himself in the music. He doesn't yearn for Home. And of course, the proximity alarm is just so perfectly right and in keeping with the Scotty we know, especially the one from the RR. Trusting others or the world is not exactly Scotty's thing. There's no safe haven or physical place for him. Perhaps that why losing himself in his work and his music is what works for him - is his little refuge and haven all inside his head.

For Andy, things couldn't be more different. The great playah is homesick and is perhaps realising how good he had it back at home and with lobster spurning Rach. He would seem on paper to be the one most ready for space, for adventure and travel. Seems not quite though so yet anyway.



Author's Response: You got it in one, Kev. Flora showed him music, and it became another component he could sink his head into. LOL! I don't think Cor ever doubted he had it good. I just think he kind of guessed he'd take it better. Young males being what they are. Thanks so much.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2013 04:15 Title: Sixteen

I didn't know we were exclusive! LOL! Oh gawds Andy, priceless. And hee, hee going back to the lobster spurning moment too. Love that little nod back. He's a rogue and he's only probably honing his roguish skills and charms in Maine god help the universe if gets out of the Cape! He'll certainly see the world and the universe as his oyster (or lobster).

Again though with the contrast. Where Andy is glib and frivilous with his relationships, whoring himself out, Scotty falls hard. To Andy it is probably unimportant to worry about hurting his 'non-exclusive girlfriends' because isn't it only just for fun and kicks. But with Scott his thinking his attitude is different. He invests completely - he gives it all he's got just like he will when it comes to that other mistress of his the Enterprise's engines.

I love certain things especially about Scotty's bit - the Irish band covering the Irish band, the fact Scotty secure's tickets to such a concert, the holding hands for the whole of the time for the whole of the four weeks, etc and the use of the word Secondary for his 'high school' cos that's a real touch and awareness of the setting he lives in. Class act Steff as always - even when writing about cads.



Author's Response: He really is a rogue! And many years later, still has a reputation in his region of Maine for it, too. XD He's not quite glib... he's just very hormonal and thought he could manage without hurting anyone (including himself!), and failed utterly. Teenagers = poor decision making skills. Scotty... aye. He picks up a love of Irish rock thanks to this. XD Years ago, I was writing pieces for him to U2. Admittedly, he branches out some as he expands his horizons, musically, but both of his favorite bands are Irish -- U2, of course, and Raining Nails (post WWIII). Thanks for noticing! High School as a term originated in Scotland, but secondary sounds 'right', at least for his time and his world. Thanks so much.

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 20:05 Title: Twenty-Two Forty-Two

That was something else from start to finish, Steff. Wonderfully written but then it's, on one side at any rate, Scotty...my Scotty not, the pretender. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Mac.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 07:16 Title: Twenty-Two Forty-Two

Not a pebble, but you might just be a rock of strength.

Marvelously done.



Author's Response: It takes him a long time to realize that strength. But eventually, he does.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 00:07 Title: Twenty-Two Forty-Two

Oh, and here they are, soon to be friends. Scotty is of course stubborn and totally unwilling to ask for help, something I understand for sure.

Then we have Corry being the good natured fellow he is and trying to help him. And the two come together when Corry realizes, in a nice throwback, that Scotty's not a pebble either.

This was sweet. The descriptions of everything was concise but perfectly delivered. In such a short span of words you painted us a hell of a scene.

I love these guys. That is all.



Author's Response: I love 'em too. I never forget how much, but when it gets renewed, it makes me smile. Thanks for reading and sticking with 'em.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2013 00:07 Title: Twenty-Two Forty-Two

Oh, I love the callback to the not-a-pebble!  So sweet.  

I love how Corry doesn't know why he likes Scotty, he just DOES.  And I love that Scotty is resigned to letting him like him.

"Corry settled in for the long haul."  

He sure did.

Beautiful arc, Steff.  Thank you so much for sharing it this week.



Author's Response: Scotty intrigues those rare few who bother to really look at him and wonder, "What's really going on with you?" He presents such an opaque front, most people never look twice. But those that do really look, I think. And indeed, Cor did settle in for the long haul. Thanks for reading and sticking with it!

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2013 19:39 Title: Eighteen

Quite something to see how Scotty in particular grows but also how Corry parallels. Both alike, both different. Fascinating, as someone would say.

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2013 09:57 Title: Eighteen

Well, for the second time in a row, it seems Scotty has the better part here. He's out, on a planet, biding his time and listening to music (I want a tricorder now, please, can I have one?) and uninentionally singing! It's good to see Scotty warm up here, thaw out a bit ... he has some buds. Maybe not super tight buds but buds.

And Corry, stuck in basic, missing the beautiful coasts of Maine. It's a tough thing to be away from home when it's all you've ever known. Corry's feelings of homesickness shine through here. Well done.



Author's Response: Thanks! Scotty really started coming into his own in Basic. Got his lifelong nickname, which he took to like a duckdog to water, and started healing himself some internally. Corry's homesick foreshadows his total reluctance to go spaceside later in ONOW. Thanks!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2013 09:50 Title: Eighteen

Nicely tied together with the music and early Academy stuff.  For the first time in this little arc, Scotty seems more or less in his element while Corry struggles.  I'm sure that has everything to do with the fact that neither of them are at home any longer.  Contrast, indeed.

I'm going to miss this little series after tomorrow.  It's been nice to check in with these two so often this week!



Author's Response: You nailed it right on the button, kes. XD Exactly that. And hopefully, someday I'll be able to finish Forty-Eight. It's one of the hardest story between 'em, though not the very hardest, but it goes far. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2013 08:38 Title: Eighteen

And now they converge (a bit), but I get the feeling that Andy's squad and his orders and his assignment, that it's all going to be more gentle than Scotty's, at least for a while. Scotty's the more hardened one, so it seems like Andy might be ripe for a fall.



Author's Response: Hm. Yes, and no? I guess? Scotty really excelled in Basic. It's how he made it into Command School -- he was away from Aberdeen and family, and no one knew him, and he didn't have to LET them know him. He was able to step out of his own shadow a bit. Andy -- Corry -- on the other hand, did make it through and slowly adapted to living away from home, though never enough to get comfortable with the idea of going into space. If you want his fall, it's in On the Nature of Wind. Thanks so much for the comment!

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2013 22:11 Title: Sixteen

I wonder if the way they approach love and relationships is a direct result of their circumstances?  Scotty, who has never felt loved; always felt out of place and alone falls hard for his girl, willing to give her what he, himself never had, but wanted out of life.

And Corry, so loved and safe within his family, feels that he can dabble in romance because, right now, his family's love is wrapped securley about him.  He doesn't need to find that safety and security elsewhere.  It still doesn't excuse the fact that he's a dog for scheduling two dates on the same night at the same time. ;-)  Ah, the raging hormones of teenage boys - every mother's worst nightmare. ;-)



Author's Response: I'm honestly not sure, with Scotty. He falls hard, and it wouldn't shock me if it was compensation for not getting nearly the normal amount of affection and attention when he was wee. But I think he gives his all to her because he just can't fathom not. LOL! And God, Corry. I don't doubt it. He knows he's safe at home, so sure, why not dabble? He is a dog. It's facepalm worthy, but very him at this age, and very cute.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2013 21:52 Title: Fourteen

Again, this fits the title so well:  one running away from his life and the other running toward it.

And I love the idea that while Scotty can't fix his life, he can damn well fix the NovaPad.  At least that will give him some semblance of control over some aspect of his life.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2013 21:46 Title: Twelve

I love the contrast here:  Scotty fighting for survival and Corry fighting (the skiff, the wind, the sea) for the sheer joy of it.  This is borne out so well in the allegory of breathing.  Again, Scotty breathing to know he was still alive, as was Corry, but for very different reasons.  One out of sorrow and pain, the other out of joy and the zest for his current life.  You are a master at this, m'dear!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2013 16:58 Title: Sixteen

Oh, this was so sweet.  Scotty in love is just the most wonderful thing, and Corry is such a cad but lovable despite it.  

(I sort of imagine the very next scene is Sally and Barbara teaming up to get some revenge.)



Author's Response: Well, in the year of 2246, Corry is still known throughout Midcoast Maine as being a player. XD I'd say they definitely got their revenge, aye! And yes, Flora and Scotty only lasted a month, but she gave him music, removed from him the 'virgin' label and remains a permanent warm spot in what was otherwise a rough life. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2013 08:47 Title: Sixteen

Ewps!

Andy's gonna get it!

Loved Scotty's romance (and very believable for the TOS Scotty as well, who I felt loved passionately when he had relationships on the show, and really should've had more) was delightful.



Author's Response: Andy's reputation follows him, for sure! As for Scotty, aye; I think I once calling him a romantic paladin, and still think it fits. Admittedly, I wish he'd keep his head better and maybe not fall quite so hard and fast, but even so. Thanks!

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2013 00:36 Title: Sixteen

bwahahahahaha! Wow Andy. Wow. That's a helluva excuse to try and come up with. Way to go!

Author's Response: He was definitely a player, there. Thanks!

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2013 00:26 Title: Ten

ha...but girls ARE icky. :P

Author's Response: :P Says you!

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2013 00:05 Title: Sixteen

OH MAN. Scotty's was so sweet and perfect, just a beautiful examination of all the little things he loves and what makes him so loveable. He's head over heels for this girl and I love that for him, especially after everything.

Then we get to Corry and what a player he is. Nice to see a nod back to Sally here and their past, how Corry is just smooth ... and then makes the classic blunder of too many girls in one night. Oh, Corry, you dog you.

This one was fun. :)



Author's Response: He really was. I'm pretty sure that the only reason they broke up was because he was so serious, he very likely asked her to marry him. In all sincerity. And she gently (and it was gentle, and sweet) told him that they weren't going to work out, she wasn't anywhere ready to settle. And oh, God, Corry. I love him, but I think his hormones outran his brain and heart this time, yeah. Thanks!

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 19:39 Title: Fourteen

I've caught up on the stories, I apologise for not commenting beforehand. Contrasts indeed, both boys of different character and written so richly. Scotty remains a blurred edge in my writing and here is he brought in sharp relief. I guess I have a lot more to catch-up :)

Author's Response: I definitely give it my all, to do justice to him. He's an amazing character to write. Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2013 19:00 Title: Fourteen

Awwww. Love that last line.

And man, heart breaks for Scotty. Fixes what he can fix. So much else is just broken. That's a thought that makes my eyes water.



Author's Response: Aye. So much else... but not him. Thanks so much for the comment!

You must login (register) to review.