Reviews For Neva
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Jul 2013 06:00 Title: Chapter 3

Love that last line.

After all the pain and joy that Scott goes though to get the item from Neva and the unexpected extras.

For a three part story it just a joyful breeze to read, I could imagine the world and Scotty and Neva attempts to avoid the syndicate as they tried to get to the Space-port.

Author's Response: This was just as much fun to write, I promise. Thank you!

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jul 2013 21:21 Title: Chapter 3

Ah, a good stinger ending!

Loved the line about a commendation for Kyle for his timing.

And hey, ya never know. Perhaps they will meet again? After all, she's gotta return his phaser.



Author's Response: I have no idea what the future brings. But thank you for reading it, and commenting. <3

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jul 2013 21:12 Title: Chapter 2

A bit of a dance now - oh Scotty, you're right - this could be big time trouble.



Author's Response: It is, and it is, but I think... in the best ways.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jul 2013 21:02 Title: Chapter 1

My, my, my, Scotty! What have you gotten yourself into this time?

I love the unflinching look at the Syndicate - slavery is slavery, even if they're dressed like go-go girls. So Pike as a great Orion emancipator makes his disability as shown in The Menagerie even more tragic, that so many people he could have helped will now go without.



Author's Response: There can be absolutely no doubt in my own mind that Pike's tragedy was hugely so. For so many reasons. Thank you!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jul 2013 18:44 Title: Chapter 1

Flip! Didn't expect a cliffhanger ending. Nicely palyed with the carpet pulling.

Scotty as bootlegger. Love it. You can sense he is discomfitted by the mission and yet of everyone he is the one with the best qualifications for the mission - not just the engineering know how - Scotty has actually lived out among the stars on civilian frieghters - any of the other crew would only be pretending whereas Scotty can try ot relive something of his past experiences and bring it to his benefit.

Alas it seems he gets more than he bargained for when he meets Neva. To begin with, I thought Neva was going to be the name of the planet not the contact - but meeting this fascinating Orion woman it seems she is of such a formidable stature, such a character she warrants a titled story. I wonder how she pans out for the rest of the story. Certainly here, she makes an impression on Scotty and the reader. Her bravery has to be admired for she has taken a bold, bold choice getting involved in the line of business she has - taking on the Orions in subterfuge and theft of their technology.

I like the fleshing out of the Orion Syndicate here in that they are made to feel like a kind of threat. They are trying to find means of subverting the Federation's technology - its greatest asset - and by rendering it null they would have any Starfleet vessel soon at their merciless mercy. I like too the fact that by linking Pike to the Orions we give more to his character and career and time in command of the Enterprise and by extension Scotty. (Pike is now in the words and blessing of McGregor an honory Border Dog for his work, dogged persistance and general making life a right pain in the butt for the Orions).



Author's Response: It's usually the Big Three who get to have the fun missions; this time, though, it's the engineer. XD Neva is definitely something unexpected and special; she, like every other OC I've gotten lucky with, walked onto stage fully formed and with her own soul. I think she acquits herself excellently throughout. Captain Pike definitely had a penchant, at least in my universe, for being a thorn in the sides of any number of bad dealers out there. But the Syndicate especially. Thanks so much! I hope the rest of the story is just as much fun for you as this first part.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2013 22:35 Title: Chapter 3

I absolutely loved this.  It's one of my favorite pieces I have ever read on this site, from you or anyone else.  Perfectly executed short story.  Well done!



Author's Response: Thank you so much; that's quite an honor!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2013 22:29 Title: Chapter 2

I like their chemistry.  I also especially like how you describe their physicality and mannerisms.  It makes them very real.



Author's Response: Thank you! It's a lot of fun, especially since we can't see it on screen, writing down the little physical tics.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2013 20:47 Title: Chapter 3

::sigh:: A satisfying ending - definitely the one I was looking for. ;)  A nice mix of humor, action, drama, angst and friendship.  I sure hope they are able to meet again in the future - even if it's just to share coffee and reminisce about old times.

I  like, too that he trusted her enough to go along with her plan, even though every fiber of his being screamed that it was the unchivalrous thing to do.  It showed that he respected her as a friend, a colleague, and was willing to put his life in  her hands, and trust that she was talented and intelligent enough to save herself - save both of them, in fact.  Really nice work.



Author's Response: I think I especially liked that. That they were well-matched, and that she was capable and canny and his rescuer. It sort of balances all of the ridiculous misogyny that could creep into the original series, and also the sheer ridiculousness that is Montgomery Scott in love. Here, a friend -- a good one, even so quickly made -- and an equal, and brave, and smart. It just works better. I'm so glad you liked it.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2013 20:39 Title: Chapter 3

Awww. Scotty and Neva.

This was a sweet story, filled with action, adventure, humor, drama, and a bit of romance. It was good to see Scotty and Neva hook up and both realize that it wasn't about love it was about a deep friendship with some benefits.

Scotty's get away, his worry over Neva, and his relief were all just right. He was truly a gentlemen throughout, which I think won Neva over more than anything. He treated her as a person, not a thing, and that's exactly the way she should have been treated.

I'm glad Scotty kept it to himself. That was a special time and one I'm sure he'll treasure for a long one. I can only hope Neva and Scotty meet again (and we get to see it!) ...

A truly enjoyable piece.



Author's Response: I don't think it'd ever occur to that man NOT to keep his private life quite private, indeed. And thank you, I really enjoyed writing it.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2013 20:29 Title: Chapter 2

Oh, Neva. Oh, Scotty.

I love this pairing. She's playful and smart, but not overbearing ... and Scotty has it bad for her. He knows he has it bad for her. She knows he has it bad for her and she has it bad for him and ... it's just awesome.

Onto the chapter: Loved the way Scotty and Neva got out of the line of fire, at least briefly, and made their way onto the subway. That's where Neva gives us all we need to know about the Orion Slave Girls and what's happened to them and what she thinks. I liked her thoughts on the matter, liked that she didn't try to defend her way of life but that she accepted it for what it was.

I think Scotty admired that in her.

The dynamics between the two are strong and I like the undertones of play and seriousness, in perfect balance with one another. It doesn't drift too far into one side or the other, but strikes a nice middleground.

 



Author's Response: It was an absolutely fascinating thing, writing two very opposite viewpoints in that scene on the train. I tend to lean more towards Scotty's view, but I really got what Neva was saying too. It's an interesting thing, especially when you consider other cultures, and how they view their own selves. And yes, the chemistry fell into place pretty much all on its own. Thanks!

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2013 20:28 Title: Chapter 2

LOL!  He's in trouble, indeed.

But I also like the underlying theme that he doesn't just see her as an object, as so many others do, but is able to look past all of that (or through all of that) and see the woman underneath.

I'm rooting for him here - I hope they manage to hook up before he makes it to the transport.  I think it would be beneficial - for both of them. ;)



Author's Response: Aye. I mean, obviously he reacts to her, but I figured he'd be smart enough to know the difference between a physical response to her pheromones, and an emotional response to her quite attractive personality. Thanks!

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2013 20:21 Title: Chapter 1

You are just too good, Steff.  The characterizations, all of them, are spot on and you're not just telling a story, you've drawn me into a world.  Neva could easily be a throwaway character, but she's not.  This is just terrific stuff.



Author's Response: Thanks so much, kes!

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2013 20:17 Title: Chapter 1

Ah, love this! Okay, as seeing I'm to blame for this monster of a story, let me be the first to offer thanks for starting off with McCoy. Because I love McCoy.

The wordplay between Scott, McCoy, and Kirk was perfect. I could def see Kirk being annoyed that he wasn't going to get any of the action (both kinds, perhaps ;) ) and his body language said as much.

Scott's thoughts on the planet and the way things worked we well placed. Walking down that backalley, thinking to himself, I could see Scott's mind work, the gears a turning as it were.

The bar scene was just that, a bar scene, but where Scott meets Neva brought a smile to my face. Yes, Mr. Scotty, that's why she's an Orion Slave Girl. The interplay between the two was coy but sweet. Seeing Pike referenced and discussed also pleased me to no end ... I'm glad to see he is still so reviled.

 



Author's Response: There are so many Pike-era stories to write yet. I'm really glad you gave me that prompt -- my mind grabbed it and ran with it, and had a lot of fun while doing it.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2013 19:56 Title: Chapter 1

Very  much liking this so far.  From McCoy's crotchety concern, to Kirk's palpable disappointment that he hadn't been given the assignment, to Scotty's discomfiture at meeting Neva, to that disappearing once he got his hands on the device.  And the injection of the Pike-era backstory is just win.

Can't wait to see where this is going. :)



Author's Response: Thanks! Blame Trekfan for this little foray; he suggested it, and suddenly, there I was a'typing away.

You must login (register) to review.