Reviews For The Long Way Home
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Oct 2013 14:19 Title: Chapter Three

O LBD how heart felt and painfully this chapter 3 is.
You get Scotty and Bones spot on, as always, that is one heck of a public eulogy by the pair for Kirk and Spock. I think this is some of your finest work.
As touching and right as that moment was, you hit the ball out of the park with McCoy speaking to their mothers, how Bones see the reflections of his friends in their mothers.

Amanda thank you to Winona for raise such a good son is such a touching piece and when she points out to McCoy, Spock wouldn’t of spent time with him if he didn’t value his relationship with the Doctor.

A big round of applause for the Lady.

Author's Response:

::blushes::  Thank you, FB.  As I said, this piece and its prequel were extremely difficult for me to write from an emotionaal standpoint.  Good to know that I got the actions and words right for characters for whom I don't usually write.

Applause to you, kind sir, for taking the time to read and review this somber piece. :D

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2013 13:39 Title: Prologue

I love Scotty and McCoy in this prologue. Scotty's a good commander, and McCoy is an amazing doctor and ready for anything. I love how just for a moment, you have them hold their own heartbreak at bay.

I'm reading this on my lunch break because it's been a heck of a day and I need some Cuppy fic!



Author's Response:

*blushes*  Aw, shucks. :-)  Thanks, m'dear.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 May 2012 03:14 Title: Epilogue

I suspected that Spock would be buried with Kirk in Iowa, and I think it's beautiful how they came to rest physically in the place they went to die mentally. With those chest pains McCoy was having in the last chapter, I wondered if he might end up joining them soon. I probably won't ever forget this story, and am likely to get it confused in my mind with canon...but maybe the whole death thing will keep that from happening. I also thought you did a beautiful job of having it slowly revealed what had happened to Kirk and Spock--very natural and believable.

Author's Response:

Y'know, when I was writing this that thought never occurred to me, but I see now that it makes perfect sense.  I guess even a blind squirrel finds a nut now and then. ;-)

But seriously, I'm humbled by your words and praise for this piece.  Of all the things I've written to date, this and its prequel were the hardest for me emotionally by far.  Somehow it makes it all worthwhile to know that it touched others as well.  You've truly made my week!

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 May 2012 03:09 Title: Chapter Three

Poor McCoy, what a horrible conversation to have to have! I'm so glad he was able to give the mothers some comfort, especially Amanda.

Stupid Klingons...

Author's Response:

I suspect it was not only healing for the mothers...

And I agree - stupid Klingons.  I found Kor particularly unsettling and creepy when I met him at the tender age of eleven.  I must say though, he's proving to be an interesting character and a perfect foil for our heroes.  I just might have to revisit him at some point under different circumstances. ;-)

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 May 2012 02:53 Title: Chapter Two

I cried at the scene with Mrs. Kirk...to lose them all! I couldn't do it. I'd just curl up in a ball and die right there. Beautifully written.

Author's Response:

Yes, the poor woman suffered terribly, but she is possessed of an inner strength and resolve that will see her through this (where do you think Jim got it?).  I suspect she and Amanda will now become fast friends, much like their sons were.

Thanks ever-so-much for reading and reviewing - it means everything. :D

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 May 2012 02:35 Title: Chapter One

This is so well-written, I feel like I'm simply watching an episode. I hate these deaths, but I'm glad you're not doing the deux-ex-machina "oh, hey, wait, he's alive" that they did so often on the show. My heart just breaks for everyone.

Author's Response:

As hard as it was for me to write these deaths, once I'd decided that was the course the prequel would take, I never looked back; never thought about finding a way to 'make it not so.'

That was my intention with this piece - to show how this tragedy would affect everyone around them, from those closest to them on down to the average crewman (Ensign Woo Ling).  I'm glad I was able to capture that episode feel, for that was my goal as well. ;-)

Thanks so much for the praise and support of this piece - I wasn't sure how die-hard fans would react to me offing the Big Two.

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 May 2012 16:18 Title: Epilogue

An all too powerful story picking up the emotional impact that Last Full Measure had. Kirk and Spock's absence feels quite real, quite raw as if there is quite literally a gaping hole in the fabric of this story. What remains around it is the crew coming to grips with the loss, a very loyal crew and two men who cared deeply in their way for the two dead men. The writing of McCoy more than before I found touching, emotional in its way.

If Star Trek had been done now, somehow with the original cast as they were in 1966 this would be the talk of the town. Hour long episodes, HBO...

But as I say, this packs quite the punch.

Author's Response:

Thanks, Mack - as always I'm humbled by your words.  I wanted to show just how much various crew members were willing to sacrifice in order to preserve the legacy started by their command team, and to help their colleagues cope, or succeed in the positions now thrust upon them.  Everyone steps up in his or her own way - some more than others - but they want to do whatever it takes to maintain Enterprise's reputation as the finest ship in the fleet.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 May 2012 16:00 Title: Epilogue

That's the hardest thing, I'm sure, to be the last man standing. For McCoy, he's lost a piece of himself, and there's some happiness and ease that might never come back.

Well done.



Author's Response:

Dare I say that McCoy, nor any member of the crew for that matter, will ever be the same...

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 May 2012 15:58 Title: Chapter Three

How awful for Winona Kirk. But I can see the resemblance, that she's take charge (as you said), and won't take no for an answer. For Amanda Grayson, the behavior is also similar to Spock's, but also her desire for her son to be accepted by someone. That part is very touching.



Author's Response:

Yes, this impacts both mothers, for they have both been called upon to sacrifice the greatest thing a mother can, and they both manage to deal with it with grace and dignity.  And for each, these deaths have brought them a greater understanding of their sons; one they surely wouldn't have had had they survived.  Bless McCoy, for being able to give them that gift, despite the personal cost to himself.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 May 2012 15:44 Title: Chapter Two

And the conditions are reiterated - McCoy was right; she shouldn't have looked. But how could she not?



Author's Response:

And again, she knew this would be awful (she had been warned, after all), but felt she owed it to Spock.  In this story, this is probably the hardest thing she's done, and even though that image will always be with her, if she hadn't she'd never have forgiven herself in later years.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 May 2012 15:25 Title: Chapter One

Chapel steps up beautifully here - I love her take charge attitude and just doing what needs to be done, even though she's dying inside.



Author's Response:

It seems my goal of late is to make Chapel the strong woman she was meant to be, not just a one-dimensional, lovestruck schoolgirl.  And that's her sacrifice - ease McCoy's burden as best she can, even though this loss is killing her.

You must login (register) to review.