You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Dec 2013 20:44 Title: And Faustus Must Be Damned

This was a fascinating, fantastic read Gatekeeper. At once capturing the characters from the screen to page perfectly with an intricate and gripping plot. I liked the imagery of the sailing vessel, Spock plunging into Kirk's mind all the while underlining their relationship befitting Kirk's line in Star Trek III: "You would've done the same for me."
Initially I felt shades of Enterprise Incident with Kirk emotionally charged, acting out almost on a top secret mission but this was of course more-so than that. As with LBD, I find myself wishing I could write as well whilst doffing my cap most sincerely and honesty.

Author's Response: Thank you kindly. Really appreciate your taking time to review.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Jun 2013 00:45 Title: The Stars Move Still Chapter 1

Guilty, guilty - and that feeling is making Kirk snappish, particularly at McCoy, who really needs to concentrate on Chekov. Kirk needs to calm down, and he's better off being off the Bridge - good more on Spock's part.

A scary start for this story, and I will return for more.  

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2013 23:26 Title: And Faustus Must Be Damned

Well, so wraps up this story. McCoy’s medical investigations and his poking around seemed to annoy some of the higher ups and his friend pretty much told him straight out that he needed to butt out of it. It was nice to see McCoy do as he was told and put up a medical fight when Spock mind melded with Kirk without Kirk’s permission. The two traded some nice barbs here and Kirk, in whatever capacity he was before, came back fully to the Kirk we know and love.

I have no idea what happened to him but I suspect the Klingon weapon was used on Kirk and he gave into those deep, dark fears … or maybe he played out his personal nightmare. I can’t be for sure. But Spock pulled him back and the two deftly defeated the Klingons. The description of the weapon and its effects was a high point for me in this last chapter. A weapon designed to play on the fears of the crew and display them around them was a cool idea and the way you painted it came across well to me.

My favorite fear was Uhura’s. She seemed to genuinely fear her life becoming all about that damned communications board, trapped in her job as the men around her faded away. Quite an insight into her character.

A good story and one that had me wondering to the very end. Well done.  

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2013 23:00 Title: The Devil Will Come

Well, I’m with Spock here. Just as confused as anything about what or who could have possibly replaced the captain. One of the options I’d like to propose would be the Klingons themselves. Chekov was gunned down, Kirk was all right … but did the Klingons alter Kirk somehow? Is he really Kirk at all? I’m not sure but he seems to know things Kirk does.

I liked the call back to Mr. Styles here, a character I have a particular fondness for (despite his blatant dislike of Spock in “Balance of Terror” I found him redeemable). His questioning of Kirk’s orders was the sign everyone needed that whatever restraint Kirk had certainly is out the window right now. Whatever is going on with him he’s not in any shape to command (though in plenty shape to bust up redshirts in security). So, with that said, I found Spock’s move appropriate: remove Kirk from command and offer the Klingons terms of surrender.

My question is, now what? Do the Klingons fire? Do they make it so Kirk (who could be a double agent) somehow suffers? I don’t know. But McCoy is up now to get some information and we’ll see what he can drum up. Spock’s going to have to use every resource he has to figure out this mystery.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2013 22:52 Title: The Clock Will Strike

Well, Spock and Bones have cooked up quite a scheme to get in touch with the real Jim Kirk. Reach out along the link, hmm? Spock and Jim do share that and I’m glad to see it employed here with such skill. It’s hard to describe that which the two characters seem to have difficulty putting into words themselves sometimes, but you did well. What Spock found however boggles me. Exactly what, if anything, is Kirk doing?

I was with Spock and Bones on this. It seems Kirk was replaced and though that wasn’t explicitly refuted here, it still seems to me that he was replaced … except he was replaced willingly. By what? How? And what in the world is Kirk’s gameplan? He seems to just be relaxing and letting whatever is going on go on. Orders? Top secret mission?

I’m just as confused as Spock is. I have no doubt McCoy is going to be annoyed beyond belief at this turn of events. This isn’t an answer to him though Kirk did give him a heads up on what happened to Chekov. I just feel really unease about Kirk letting whatever is happening happen here … he’s irrational and seemingly angry at those around him. I don’t think this is a good thing. Not at all. We’ll see what happens I guess but well done explaining this link of theirs.

And props for the sailing ship scenes in the last two chapters, which I very much enjoy. I don’t like being on water myself so don’t expect me to every have firsthand experience on this, but reading this was very soothing to me, relaxing, which I assume is why Kirk is at that place in his mind.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2013 22:41 Title: Time Runs

Whoa, Bones is getting a deeper read on Kirk here than I was. I could understand Kirk not wanting to drink but Bones seemed to have the sixth sense feeling that there was more than little something up. He knows Kirk well, his description on the captain’s state and mental well being right in line with my own thoughts. I liked the interplay here with Uhura, I found it very true to both their characters (McCoy being the gentlemen he is around ladies) and the way he called Spock in for a private meeting about the captain was classic Bones.

The two of them going to confront him about his behavior was a calculated play on their part. Kirk is smart enough to know when he has both Spock and Bones coming to him, together, that he needs to explain himself. It’s not often the two agree on something so when they do Kirk usually pays attention.

Instead, he outright blows up on them here and that’s most assuredly not a Kirk move. Kirk’s been known to get angry at the two but never angry enough to threaten them by throwing stuff at them. Something has gone wrong here. Is Kirk really Kirk or has he snapped under pressure?  

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2013 22:33 Title: The Stars Move Still Chapter 1

Well, the set up here is certainly an interesting one. Kirk and co. beam down to a planet, Chekov is bringing up the rear but the Klingons play rough and poor Chekov takes a shot, a bad one. Kirk is blaming himself for the loss and certainly that’s an understandable reaction, especially considering for how he cares for his crew. He doesn’t openly show it around others as he does Spock and McCoy but he cares, and the way he just seems to wound up, unable to break the constant replaying over and over in his mind the way he did things speak to me.

We all get locked in those thought processes. Spock coming in and checking on Kirk is so Spock. I love the interplay between the two here, the words that aren’t said but are clearly said between them and how Spock just mildly threatens to report something in the log that reflects poorly on the captain. He knows that Kirk needs to take his mind off this, even if it’s by illogical means, and he sends Kirk to sickbay.

Where Kirk, when confronted by Chekov’s condition, just seems to snap at McCoy. Bones is trying his best but Kirk is in no mood for drinking or forgetting. I don’t know that he wants to right now. Sometimes we’d rather wallow in our pain than do anything to address it.

 

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 May 2013 02:58 Title: And Faustus Must Be Damned

It's definitely interesting! I'm a little lost as to why Kirk needed to go off, as it were, in order to complete the mission. But otherwise, it reads just like an episode. I like Spock suggesting counseling; that didn't happen nearly often enough in my opinion.

The ending, of course, was darling, and in character, and a good wrap to the whole story.

Author's Response: Thank you for the reviews SLWalker. There was originally a reason given in the story for why Kirk needed to go off and be somewhere else, and I think it must have gotten lost in one of the revisions. I will see if I can find it and put it back in in the rewrite. Other than that, I am glad you liked the story. Thanks again for reading.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 May 2013 02:46 Title: The Devil Will Come

Good man, Styles. Spock was in particularly fine form here; mentally hearing him threaten to blow someone out of space totally made my day. I'm still looking forward to seeing what's going on in Kirk's head, too!

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 May 2013 02:40 Title: The Clock Will Strike

Oh. Oh! Oh, the plot does thicken, doesn't it? o.O Now I'm definitely hooked! What could have happened, who could be controlling Jim's moves? And what's going to happen with the Enterprise? And what's going to happen to the captain?

This story makes for one heck of a ride!

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 May 2013 02:35 Title: Time Runs

Oh, wow. Okay, something is definitely up with the Captain. It doesn't seem like it could be simple PTSD, though. More like... a switch flipped in his head and now he's lost his grip. I like Spock and McCoy trying to deal with him, and I'm really looking forward to seeing what this idea is!

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 May 2013 02:33 Title: The Stars Move Still Chapter 1

I really love the interplay between Kirk and Spock here. And how Spock is calm, but still manages to implore to Jim's warm, human nature to go and visit Chekov. It's an exceptionally solid scene.

His reaction to McCoy later almost takes me aback by comparison, but it doesn't actually surprise me much. Jim really does have the ability to lash out, doesn't he? I can only hope that everything goes well, and that Chekov turns out okay, and they patch things up.

Well written and executed! Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 May 2012 06:27 Title: The Clock Will Strike

An unconventional method of locating the 'real' Jim Kirk, to be sure, but it was damned effective!  It begs the question, though, of whether Kirk is unconscious someplace and thus Spock is able to enter his dreaming mind-state?

Curiouser and curiouser...

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Apr 2012 02:26 Title: Time Runs

Wow, now Kirk’s resorted to throwing things at his senior officers?!  Spock and McCoy have clearly made the correct call, but as for what’s happened to the captain… that’s anyone’s guess.



Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews. I really appreciate your taking the time to read my story and give me your constructive comments. As you have probably figured out by now, Kirk is not quite himself. I would love to know what you think of the rest of the story, and also any comments or suggestions you might have for making it better, if you have time to tell me. Thanks again! Gatekeeper

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Apr 2012 22:35 Title: The Stars Move Still Chapter 1

The conversation between Kirk and Spock rang true to their friendship, but after all’s said and done, Jim’s going to owe Bones an apology.  Holding the ship’s surgeon responsible for a crewmate’s injury that he’s treating is blame-shifting of the highest order, and Kirk knew it when he said it. 


An intriguing opening chapter!

You must login (register) to review.