Reviews For Interlude - Grown
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Dec 2013 21:07 Title: Interlude - Grown

This is so incredible sweet. And so very nicely done -- you managed to string together past and present and future with perfect flow. And Jess and Jason just about shine with love and affection for one another. It's great to see Jess this young (even though she's already ridiculously young!) -- I mean, as a little girl, as someone who occasionally failed a class, as someone who didn't get into the Academy on the first try, but DID get into the prep school. All in all, just really lovely.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed this...it was a very fun piece to write and explore her character.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Sep 2013 07:32 Title: Interlude - Grown

What a lovely short story you’ve manage to balance the flash forwards and backwards so well that the whole story has a natural rytham to it.

I think the scene of graduation have the right touch of pride and joy as I could imagine for any father and daughter, a nice touch by Starfleet having Jason taking Jessica through the oath. Also nice to know where she come from and why her first name is Jessica.

The scene after the first day of school of being suspended for battering the boys felt so heart heavy for Jason and you his try to explain and guide her felt a wonder parent/child scene.

Then the artificial worry of coming home to an especially clean home and the rejection form the academy proper but an offer of a place in the Academy Preparatory school was a nice twist.
An excellent story well done.

Reviewer: Aurora West Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Apr 2012 15:43 Title: Interlude - Grown

Beautiful fic! I love the flow of this from the past to the present and the very loving father-daughter relationship. The dialogue was all so natural and your prose in general was just fantastic. Very nice!

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Apr 2012 16:34 Title: Interlude - Grown

Quite a touching and well built story Templar. Very good.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Apr 2012 15:51 Title: Interlude - Grown

Sweet father daughter stuff here. Her alien origin and adopted nature adding to it all. One wonders at all the untold stories about her upbringing and the many scrapes she surely found herself in. Very interesting. Very good.

Reviewer: RobertScorpio Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Mar 2012 20:32 Title: Interlude - Grown

Wow...This was really good and totally out of left field!!! Like Jespah said, your ability to flow from past to present was awesome..

Rob

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Mar 2012 17:06 Title: Interlude - Grown

This was absolutely beautiful and actually brought tears to my eyes - not an easy thing to do.  Perhaps the most special part was when her father was the one who 'commissioned' her.  Brought back vivid memories of my time in the USNR.

As a parent, I empathized with Jason so many times - in trying to comfort a cranky baby, wondering why a child saw fit to do chores unasked, dealing with aberrant  behavior in a forceful yet loving way - all of this rang so true, and your prose and style were wonderful.  Certainly left me with the feeling I was searching for with this prompt.  Kudos to you, sir!



Author's Response: Yeah...my father commissioned me when I entered the AF about 4 years ago; when my father is having trouble speaking, I know it meant something big to him. This was definitely a very fun piece to do, as a parent as well. I have a 14 month-old and a second kid (hoping for a girl this time around) on the way; I kinda had to imagine what like would be like and how I personally would approach a situation with my own children while writing for Jason. Definitely a very fun experience to write and imagine, and I'm very glad you and everyone else enjoyed this so much. Thanks for an incredible prompt to play with!

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Mar 2012 14:40 Title: Interlude - Grown

Oh, I adore this. 

The flash backs and forward all flowed beautifully and were easy to follow. The characters are believable and ring true.

So, where's Jessiy off to now?



Author's Response: I'm glad the flashforwards and flashbacks flowed well; I tried a new thing this time around where I wrote everything first (what became the flashbacks) and then filled in the flash-forwards after to try and tailor them as a sort of "teaser" to the upcoming flashback. I'm glad it worked well. As for Jessiy...stand by. I'm hoping to use the next 6 months to get the ball rolling on "Rafale." I think it'll be a neat addition to the many universes represented on Ad Astra already.

You must login (register) to review.