You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2011 21:02 Title: Prompt #39: You Make Me Want to Scream

Ah Speros making trouble yet again. Quite a frustrating character altogether for all those around him. I wonder does Speros come with a warning label: 'powder keg of trouble no naked flames'.

Great seeing how protective Rebek was towards Berat but also to see the affirmation of Macet's faith in him. That gave me a smile.



Author's Response:

He should come with a warning label indeed. ;-)

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2011 20:43 Title: Prompt #27: Downtime

Hee, hee. Great to see these little snippets giving a wonderful little window into these three character's private downtime. Particularly liked seeing Iymender discovering that his computer programme cheating on him! Ha!



Author's Response:

Iymender programmed that thing to cheat.  If you're not watching it like a hawk (I think there's some kind of opportunity to stop it from cheating), then it will indeed cheat.  It keeps the player on his or her toes. ;-)

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2011 20:39 Title: Prompt #20: Unrequited

He has made the brave choice of weighing up what is true disloyalty and what is truly serving Cardassia. The fact that he puts himself and his crew on a dangerous path shows the faith of his convictions and the spirit and degree of his loyalty and duty to Cardassia.



Author's Response:

If there's one thing Berat is not, he's not a blind follower.  I suspect some Cardassians would consider him defective.  Maybe his hierarchical instinct really IS weaker.  But all of his experiences have broken him of any notion that the Union is Cardassia.  And I suspect he will never entirely trust any government.

He's one of the few Cardassians who would probably get a kick out of this shirt.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2011 20:36 Title: Prompt #18: Performance Review

Well strange as it might be, Speros had some sort of role in shaping Macet. A model of how not to be! Disengaged from his commanding officer has to be especially galling given the hierarchial instinct of a Cardassian. It doesn't stop Macet being loyal but I imagine he wants to be a type of leader who inspires loyalty rather simply expecting it. And as usual Speros makes for a curious and always potentially dangerous enigma.



Author's Response:

Ever see the show Hell's Kitchen?  I imagine that's what it's like on Speros' bridge.  I actually had a boss like that once, though not as violent as Speros can be.  Realllly capable, but incredibly strict and temperamental, the kind of person who can upset you to the point of wanting to cry or break things.

But yeah, I'd say Macet learned both what's good AND what's bad from Speros.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2011 20:31 Title: Prompt #10: Loss of Concentration

LOL!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was tempted to leave out the rest of the short review and do a Berat but figured I might be the only one who found that funny. But here of course, very simple humour but wrapped in a situation and a reveal that comes at the end making it seem as if there was something else going on until the last moment. Hee, hee.



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed it!  You may be figuring out by now that Berat's got Cardassian ADHD.  In a disciplined society he can't let that show too much, but he does. ;-)

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2011 20:29 Title: Prompt #9: Backpfeifengesicht

Oh I know the focus of this piece should be the vile and horrible things that spill out of Ocett's mouth and how Berat and Rebek defend one another but it is really the opening paragraphs that stick with me, this simple coming together, shairng, understanding between two friends who recognise the depth of feeling and loyalty between each other. So much so that one really wonders at why they don't make any invite to court, but of course they both have so much going on in their lives at this time it would not seem appropriate. My only shipping concern for Berat and Rebek is that I wonder if either would recognise when it might be appropriate to court the other - I imagine them forever finding a reason to hedge any feelings, any potential for feelins, for a relationship and kick the possibilities down the road like a tin can. It is in little pieces like this that I see that potential in Berat and Rebek yet in the larger story I tend to think of them both as being very professional and having a deep rooted friendship but no more than that. I guess here I just become a potentially hopeless romantic. Aw.



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed seeing Berat and Rebek interact. :-) They are indeed very close friends, and it began when Berat found out a secret that would literally get her killed, and possibly even get him killed because he didn't report it.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2011 20:22 Title: Prompt #8: First Day

Love the tradition and routine of new service and rank here. Simple yet dignified - and amid it Berat! about to lose it and laugh! Who is this Gul? Ha! :shakes head: Nice to see this side of Berat. He is often so solid and grounded one can easily forget his much more genial and good humoured side. He comes across like a giddy kid with his internal glee and pride for his great accomplishment and promotion.

But we also see the bond between Berat and Macet here, one giving the other the promotion and showing belief in Berat's abilities. Macet also seems to believe greater awaits the crew and it must be that he believes Berat will be able to eke out this potential in the crew. That says alot about Macet but it must also say a lot about the confidence Berat engenders in others too.

And it has to be said, working in a position of authority as in having the care, happiness and safety of others in your care you really do feel an obligation, a burden, a duty, that feels as tangible as the weight of the sigil settle on you. That was a great touch.



Author's Response:

Berat's got a lot of different facets, for sure.  He's definitely not your stereotypical stick-up-the-ass Cardassian that you saw on the show.  A giddy kid is exactly what he felt like! :-D

The Sherouk has been something of a troubled ship under Gul Zarvat.  I haven't really shared it yet, but suffice it to say I know why this change of command happened with so little warning; normally I think an incoming gul would've been given more time.  But one thing I can tell you Berat's been known for throughout his career is his ability to connect with people.  Even as an engineer he was the kind that actually liked and was good at training people.

He's excited...but you're right, he's definitely feeling the weight.  Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2011 20:12 Title: Prompt #1: "She Never Saw It Coming" (Hebitia)

I was confused for a second reading this again in the same night! LOL! Then I copped to it and reread the blurb. Again, it is a moment of great national/planetary pride for the Cardassians. The beginnings of so much space opera.

You must login (register) to review.